Double Whammy!!!!


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Central Anatolia » Konya
December 3rd 2009
Published: January 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Stranded in Cappedocia?

You might think that but we ended up buying the ticket to get to Konya which left the next morning.

We went back to our hostel - and to our luck we organized a breakfast at 7 and the heating had been fixed and I had my second warmest sleep in Turkey to date.

The next morning we hoped on the bus for a 4.5 hour drive to Konya.

Unfortunately at Konya, though we had been promised otherwise - there were no direct tickets to Pamukale.

We ended up getting the bus to Denizile.

From Denizle we would change to Pamukale. Second potential problem. The first available bus was at 11pm.

We booked that thinking well at least we would get the time to see the whirling dervish that evening.

Unfortunately the whirling dervish was not on until Saturday.

We did catch the tram to the city centre and get a chance to see the Menevara museum.

The museum housed some tombs and artifacts discovered by a famous philosopher - Menevra plus the chest with the prophet Muhammad's beard.

After the Menevara museum we went to the mosque next door then headed up through the markets where dad nearly got talked into buying a leather jacket. We were so close!!!

Following this we headed up to Aleattin’s hill and checked out the Aleattin Mosque. Prayer time had started so I went to the women’s section whislt Ivan went to the mans.

Ivan decided to have a man shave after this (which he compares to the excitement girls feel after getting a massage) dad went to a café and I went to mosque Tower where I met some boys who started talking to me about Islam.

We had dinner in a pretty tacky Turkish restaurant before heading to the bus stop to get the bus to Denizile. I sat next to a cute Turkish lady that didn’t speak much English but smiled a lot.

We got to Denzile about 5 in the morning and everything was going well until about 20 minutes after the bus departing I realied I had left my bag - with both passports, all my Turkish lira (200 or about 140AUD worth) all my credit cards and bank cards, plus my ipod and all my photos which were stored on it on the bus.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.419s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 28; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb