Excuse Me! I love Turkey!


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Pamukkale
December 4th 2009
Published: February 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

What do you do with no passport and 30 turkish lira to your name?

Hop in the van of the owner of the Otel Kora in Pamucakle and do a quick tour of Pamucakle.

He said it would be no problem they would find my bag - to read about how I lost my bag click here and then I could pick it up once I got back to the bus station on the way to Ephesus - which we were hoping to go to tonight.

The tour was 40 lira - but honestly speaking wasn’t really necessary because it was walking distance to the springs and the ruins from the town centre.

It did include lunch though, and the 20 lira entrance fee to the ruins (though it probably would have been easy to jump the fence for those game).

The ruins were amazing, they were from the Romanesque period but really reminded me as if I was in Greece, Athens at the Parthenon .

Our tour guide was not so amazing but he did excuse himself a lot.

The frozen masses of travertineor what looked like limestone formations were also really amazing. You weren’t allowed to walk on all travertine formations as I found out when the guards told me off.

We went to the hot springs were it was 23 lira to go for a swim.

I would advise against this - simply follow some of the rocks down stream and you can find the running stream getting wide enough for a person to fit in - saving you 23 lira😊

Me and brother nemsis also hiked up to the amphitheatre which was pretty to have a look around in.

Lunch was a buffet - and we stuffed ourselves silly on just about everything. After lunch we went up to the red spring were our guide tried to get everyone to walk around barefoot in the warm springs and I sang a rendition of can you feel the love tonight for everyone!

We got back at about 3 and waited for the bus to come to take us to Ephesus - or Selcuk were we were going to stay.
On the way to Denizle we passed the bus station.

Lo and behold they found my bag - with money, passport and ipod all intact.

I brought them mandarins and Turkish delight as a thank you.

I love Turkey!


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Swimming in thespring of the  frozen masses of travertineSwimming in thespring of the  frozen masses of travertine
Swimming in thespring of the frozen masses of travertine

Me and the Spanish dude we met back on the [url=http://www.travelblog.org/Middle-East/Turkey/Central-Anatolia/Cappadocia/blog-468166.html]Green tour of Cappedocia[/url]


Tot: 0.364s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 20; qc: 78; dbt: 0.1183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb