Chill Out!!!!


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Olympos
October 26th 2005
Published: October 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Evil EyesEvil EyesEvil Eyes

The Turks believe these "evil eyes" will ward of spirits. Lloyd and I both have them on our backpacks.
Ok Ok
So the last time I spoke to you all we were living on a boat in the mediteranean. Not bad, eh? We ended up taking a cruise along the Turqoise coast of Turkey for three days. We were accompanied by our crew, Camil (the cook) and Ilyas (our captain) and a great group of , Ausies, Americans and one german chick. Four 4 days and three nights all we did was cruise around in the boat, eat amazing meals and swim in little secluded bays along the coast. At night we would throw on some jams and rock out. This boat trip was amazing because we didn't have to think at all. Our food accomodations and trasportation were all taken care of. Simply beautiful.
After the boat cruise Lloyd and I and ome of the people from the cruise took a bus to Olympos. This town is about 2300 years old and has a ton of ancient ruins. Because of the ruins they are not allowed to build any buildings with foundations so there are all of these little tree house pensions. To get to the beach you have to walk throuh the ruins. It felt so
Sunrise from BoatSunrise from BoatSunrise from Boat

I slept on the deck of the boat. More like passed out but whatever. Luckily I woke up to this beautiful sunrise. Haven't seen many of these in my days.
cool walking past 2000 year old temples and necropolises and even tombs on the way to the beach. One day lloyd and i deced to go on a hike to the "lost city." This 75 year old ex runner told us that it took him four hours round trip to check it out. Lloyd and I thought "hey, we're young and fit, we could probably do it in 2 hours at the most." WRONG!! Well we have to be the worst hikers EVER cuz we both forgot water and food. Lloyd was feeling dizzy and had to lie down a few times on the way up. We got split up cuz lloyd took the wrong path, and 5 hours later our legs hurt and we could barely walk. The so called lost city wasn't that cool but lloyd was so thirsty that he did drink out of a goat trough. I will post the picture in a few days.
Anyways that's the latest scoop. Olympos was such a chill town. I could have stayed there week. Sitting on the beach, sleeping in treehouses, and eating amazing meals (meals are included in the room price).
lloyd and i are
StudStudStud

I know...you al hate me. Thats the bay where I watched the sunrise and that's our boat...Turqoise waters of Turkey. aww
splitting up for a few days. He wants to go back to Istanbul and I'm off to the cave town of Cappadocia in the mountains. Ciao



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

AlaturkaAlaturka
Alaturka

That's our boat and our captain Ilyas who resembles jesus, no?
Crazy fire placeCrazy fire place
Crazy fire place

natural gas seeping from the earth. Inspiration for the eternal flame. This was in olympos. cool man
Legit ShaveLegit Shave
Legit Shave

I got a facial massage and a shave from this guy. He uses a real razor and could literaly cut my throat with one bad slice. He cut me three times. Do you think that's a bad sign?
Lloyds TroughLloyds Trough
Lloyds Trough

Exhaustion will make you do crazy things. Ie drink from a goat trough
Efes BeerEfes Beer
Efes Beer

The only real turkish beer. Oh beautiful Efes...why are you so damn expensive? Muslim countries frown upon alcohol.
Silly TurksSilly Turks
Silly Turks

You think that the government would get a native english speaker to check over their signs before they PRINT THEM....
Beach walkBeach walk
Beach walk

This is one of the many magnificent ruins that we passed on the way to the beach....go to Olympos
Pirate CavePirate Cave
Pirate Cave

Pirat Cave Kiss? umm No... That's me in the middle
BackgammonBackgammon
Backgammon

Lloyd and I are addicted to this game...Bring it on.


26th October 2005

Hungry Eyes!
Such a cool, omenous picture at the top. I bet they do the trick though. See ya in Egypt, brufa.
27th October 2005

way cool blogs...
... even cooler if you knew how to spell my name right after four years of friendship and commenting on my rack!
20th January 2006

Great pictures
Hi there. The girl i met in fullmoon party (thailand) e-mailed me a link to see the pictures she toke that night, than i clicked turkey and saw my boats picture. I am owner of the boat than in yor pictures and i thging i will use your backgammon picture in my new 2006 brochures. Take care mate. Ned - www.alaturkacruises.com

Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0891s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb