Naked men everywhere!


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Antalya
September 24th 2008
Published: September 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

..well really only in the museum! Its amazing how we all came to be such prudes when our distant ancestors had naked statues around all the time. Its also amazing how good they were at carving and that the work has endured for so long. I visited the Antalya museum today and WOW! Its the best one i have been to. A huge gallery of statues and another of sarcophagai..is that plural for sarcophagus? Plus an exhibit showing how the nomadic tribes lived. Very well done and most of the texts were in several languages, including English. Antalya is a really old city and the old part is kinda like the old part of Istanbul, except less traffic. They still drive crazy here. My hotel is very nice and the food is yummy. IF the chef wasn't married, I would have married him for sure! But the waiter took me for a walk tonite...then he wanted to take me to a small pansyone..small hotel. Ha, i asked him how old he is and he said 26, when i told him my age, his eyes about popped out of his head. I had to laugh. He was really sweet and very cute. Didn't totally deter him, but he listened to my NO. NOw if he had been a few yrs older.....he also said if his age was a problem, he would be 50 for me! LOL. Someone tell me what all these young men want...is it really doing the nasty or do they want a contact in the USA? I just can't imagine an American doing this. Anyways, no problem! good for my ego!
As you can see, i didn't do so much today. The marina here is gorgeous and the beach looks quite inviting but i will wait till my next stop where its not so crowded. I might stay in Cirali longer than originally planned if i really like it. Kinda tired of moving around so much and packing, unpacking, packing, etc. etc. Anyways, I need to box up my purchases and ship home...way toooooo much.
The picts will be of some of museum and some of marina and then my hot young TS. ha! didn't get a pict of the waiter. (don't want to get him in trouble either). Then I am going to bed early and alone!(ok Jill, you can relax now!).



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Antalya 062Antalya 062
Antalya 062

beautiful old statues
Antalya 075Antalya 075
Antalya 075

mans head in marble, very life like
Antalya 087Antalya 087
Antalya 087

Very detailed sarcophagus
Antalya 089Antalya 089
Antalya 089

another sarcophagus


25th September 2008

What a site to see-the beach looks so inviting!!! And the gallery shots too, amazing!!! Di, I say go for it..lol..don't come home with a..I should have..lol..you only live once! *wink*
27th September 2008

WOW !! Wish we were there
Leave it to you to get a smooch at the end! Glad to know you are having a good time. Can't wait for you to get home to show even more pics. Hope the rest of your trip is as good as the begining. Your Friend Gail

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb