Minarets


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Antakya
May 15th 2012
Published: May 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

They are called minarets... In a different era there would have men on their balconies - singing the prayers - today they have speakers attached with a man in the bottom - singing the prayers. They are a constant reminder that this place is steeped in faith. It is not the occasional bells of a church - but a visual and auditory reminder that I am in fact "not in Kansas anymore". Not to say of course that people in Kansas are godless - only that they are in possession of "god light" - think Miller (or Bud). Here - everyone wears their faith, it is open and evident and something that I am always lacking. It is hard to understand such complete surrender - this modern field of Atheism does not seem to exist here. I had a serious talk with my friend Louis (Luis) who is a monk. He has this uncanny grasp of faith and life - and yet he is so young. He said that some say dedication to god is a vocation - but it's not true - you can choose to do it or not, like all things. But maybe he has never been without the voice of god in his heart? I wish I knew. He shared so much with me tonight - I hope at some point I can return the favor.

Advertisement



15th May 2012

First of all, I love reading your blog Bridget :) Every time I get an email notification I'm so excited to read what you've written next! Secondly, I understand what you were writing about here; as a British convert I'm constantly grappling with coming from such a huge Atheist background, but also surrendering myself to the faith that I've chosen. For my husband, a born Muslim, Atheism doesn't exist on his radar. And also, aren't the calls to prayer such an eerie/beautiful sound? The first time I went to Egypt it was almost on the edge of making me feel crazy! But that might have been because there were like 12 different calls in the same street all clashing with each other.

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb