Sunday 21st July 2013 - Prince's Islands, Turkey


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
July 21st 2013
Published: July 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Feribot to Prince's IslandsFeribot to Prince's IslandsFeribot to Prince's Islands

Feribot to Prince's Islands
Sunday 21st July 2013 - Prince's Islands, Turkey



My Turkish friend 'Eno' said "If you are bored with Istanbul, why don't you go to Prince's Islands by ferry from Kabatas".

So the next morning, I went to Kabatas ferry terminal which was only 20 minutes from my campsite. Boarded the ferry at around 12 noon and targeted the largest island called 'Buyukada'. Had the biggest ice cream cone on earth, drank some 'Cay' before exploring the island.

The horse and carriage was the most interesting part of the island experience, only I could not afford it at 70 Turkish Lira a ride. Still some lucky tourists did enjoy the rides and this keeps the island economy running.



I accidentally walked into the 'Central Station' for the horse and carriage and then suddenly a stench hit my nose. My instinct was to turn back, but when I saw all the horses I decided to explore the area.

At the 'Central Station' I drank tea and watch the drivers scrape the horse manure from a rubber sheet that catches the dung. They would then put the dung into big trash cans. I also saw
My moustache is growing nicelyMy moustache is growing nicelyMy moustache is growing nicely

My moustache is growing nicely
the driver water the horses and the lucky ones were fed with straw.

on the way home I watched people on the ferry feeding the flock of seagulls with expensive simit (local bread with sesame on top). These birds are very clever and acrobatic. I have seen a seagull catching a piece of simit in mid-air, diving for a piece of simit and if they could not get their own simit, they would try to steal it from another bird resulting in a aerial dogfight. Great entertainment on the ferry back to Istanbul.



I had a very expensive sis kebab and soup in the evening to round of a perfect day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Turkish seagulls being fed simitTurkish seagulls being fed simit
Turkish seagulls being fed simit

Turkish seagulls being fed simit
The seawater looked like green glass The seawater looked like green glass
The seawater looked like green glass

The seawater looked like green glass
Large deposits from the horsesLarge deposits from the horses
Large deposits from the horses

Large deposits from the horses
Central stationCentral station
Central station

Central station


27th July 2013
20130721_153908

The Prince Islands
Lovely photo.
1st August 2013

Keep going
Excited to see that you have reached Turkey which is a very interesting country as far as I know. Hope you will continue your journey with great fun. Take care and good luck
1st August 2013

Thank you Thomas and Anita. See you in Hong Kong soon (I hope). Philip

Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb