19th July - 20th July - Bursa, Turkey


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
July 19th 2013
Published: July 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Me and a Turkish old man singing for our supper during RamadanMe and a Turkish old man singing for our supper during RamadanMe and a Turkish old man singing for our supper during Ramadan

Me and a Turkish old man singing for our supper during Ramadan
19th July - 20th July 2013 Istanbul to Bursa



Having spent so much time in Istanbul, I have got to know the city well by now. My Turkish friend at the campsite suggested that I should visit Bursa, the 4th largest city in Turkey. I went to the Internet cafe to find out how to get to Bursa. The port where I can board a ferry is called YeniKapi and it was 30 minutes walk from the campsite. Unfortunately, by the time I got to Yenikapi that day is was already 4pm and the next sailing was 6pm.



Not wanting to stay overnight in Bursa, I decided to buy a ticket for the first sailing at 7.20 am the next day.



Next day, I got up at 5am and arrived at Yenikapi at 7am to catch the ferry. The journey to about 90 minutes. When I arrived in Bursa, I thought I 'was' in Bursa. I walked for about 20 minutes then realised something was wrong. Took out my mobile phone and checked my position in relation to Bursa and I was about 30 Km away. I quickly turned back to the
Sunrise at campSunrise at campSunrise at camp

Sunrise at camp
port and boarded a bus to Bursa. 30 minutes later, I had to get off the bus to board the metro to 'Bursa'. By the time I was in Bursa city centre it was another 90 minutes.



The town was pleasant enough and it was once the capital for the Ottoman empire.



I walked and walked around the town, ride on their famous tramways and had lunch their. I caught the last ferry back to Yenikapi at 6pm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Now its the Belgians showing off their hardwareNow its the Belgians showing off their hardware
Now its the Belgians showing off their hardware

Now its the Belgians showing off their hardware
View of Yenikapi sea portView of Yenikapi sea port
View of Yenikapi sea port

View of Yenikapi sea port
BursaBursa
Bursa

Bursa
Evening mealEvening meal
Evening meal

Having reduced my food intake to one meal a day, I decided not to let the natives beat me. So I ordered everything on the menu.
Still look hungry after that hefty dinnerStill look hungry after that hefty dinner
Still look hungry after that hefty dinner

Still look hungry after that hefty dinner


9th October 2013

wish you well
Hi Philip, Nice to see your blog and pic. You still looked hungry. We are glad you made as far as Turkey. Shall we meet in HK? Take care and enjoy. catalina

Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb