Oh what a nıght!


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
July 20th 2009
Published: August 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After seeing enough of Transylvania I decided to bolt on Romania and head down to turkey, and yes Bulgaria is in the path of this journey but I don't really have any interest and haven't heard many good things about it. So I try to catch an overnight train that leaves from Bucharest. I missed it by 20 mins, apparently I was running off an old timetable! This was awesome, being stuck in buchurest trying to find a way to Istanbul and the only people who could tell me anything about an alternative way were thieving taxi drivers that conveniently stated that it left from a station 14km away and they would take me there! Haha! I decided to consult my bible (lonely planet book) and it gave me direction. I found a company that sold the bus tickets about 300m from the train station, however the bus was due to get into Istanbul at 4am (train was due to arrive at 9am, much more convenient). I decided to go for it. After boarding the bus 4 hours later, we were on our way and not long after we crossed into Bulgaria. I was happy because I could atleast see some of it's country side. After a few hours of trying to sleep (we had a baby that wouldnt stop crying, i was running through my head the various different ways of killing it, im sure i wasnt the only one, lol) we were woken at the Turkish border at around midnight. An hour later we were through but only after having to sort out visas and having our luggage opened and checked. We happened to arrive an hour early in Istanbul (that's 3 am) and they dropped us off on a random street (I was hoping to be arriving at a bus station where I was going to sleep until I could find accomodation for the following night) which sucked be because I was now lost in middle of the night with all my belongings with me. As noone spoke English I couldn't get directions or help so I decided to follow a small group of people from the bus down a small side street which led us to a tourist agency that was associated with the bus company. And so myself and the small group camped out the rest of the night in a tourist agency. I had 2 seats to myself that I tried to utiise in a very cramped way and I used my bible as a pillow. I'd barely call it sleep but I did red until 7:30 when I decided to go and unlose myself. Luckily the accom I found let me check in early and I was happily in a bed by 9:30. What a night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb