temmuzluyoruz.


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
July 9th 2009
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Let me begin by assuring you that what I post on this blog in no way represents the views of the State Department or the Critical Language Scholarship program.

Bu hafta İstanbul fırın gibi olmuş. Blogum için çok ilginç şeyler şimdi yazamıyorum maalesef. Hava bu kadar sıcak olurken düşünemiyorum. Ayrıca pazartesiden cumaya öğleden sonraya kadar sadece derse gidiyoruz. Neyse İstanbul hala çooooooook güzel ve hayat iyi gidiyor.

Halenur Hanım (benim Türk annem) dün İzmit'ten geldi ve Beşiktaş'ta buluşup Taksim'de bir restorana gittik. Onu çok özledim ve görüşmek çok hoşuma gitti. Annem ve Jale yemekten sonra çıkıp eve gittiler. Çok geç değildi ama çıkmaları lazımdı çünkü yol uzundur.

Sonra diğer öğrencilerle buluşup Selim Sesler'in konserine gittik. O süper bir klarnetçi ve herkes grubunda çok iyi çalıyor. Darbukacı çok beceriyle çalıyor. Nasıl sadece bir davuldan bu kadar güzel ve karışık sesleri çaldığını bilmiyorum.

We went to a concert last night in a bar near the end of İstiklal Caddesi. Selim Seler, a brilliant Thracian clarinet virtuoso and his talented band play there every Wednesday night. I was especially blown away by the darbuka (dumbek) player, who manages to get a flurry of different sounds out of just a single
midye dolmasımidye dolmasımidye dolması

konsere gittikten sonra midye dolması sokakta yedik
drum. His juicy rhythms are executed with seemingly little effort.

Bu hafta sonunu dört gözle bekliyorum çünkü Ankara'ya gidip sevgilimi görücem! Onu çok özledim ve İstanbul'dan çıktıktan sonra bir kaç hafta önce biz hiç görüşemedik. Geliyorum tatlım!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

çillinçillin
çillin

my guess is that Turkey's first çayhane was opened by a kindergarten teacher who had extra furniture and for some reason the tiny chairs and tables caught on...
ZencefilZencefil
Zencefil

Zencefil'in önündeyiz. Jale bu restoranı çok seviyor. Ben de seviyorum.


9th July 2009

glad you are well!
Good to know you are back on your feet again! Hope you are enjoying the time there (looks like you are!) Hot here in Dallas - it will feel like 110 degrees today. I left Prague at about 65-70 degrees - this heat will take some getting used to! Dr. Klima
10th July 2009

Fine, be like that! And I got all excited too...
10th July 2009

?
like what???
13th July 2009

Like writing mostly in un-English so I can't read it :p . I'll just go pout in a corner.
13th July 2009

Maşa, you'll just have to get your Turkish sorted out.
19th July 2009

I wish I could understand this entry! I get some of the endings (from what you taught me), but not much. Anyway, I hope you are learning lots/having fun in Turkey. I miss you back here in the states! I've been trying to learn how the guitar works, and also the uke. So far so good. Maybe I'll record some songs some day? Who knows.
5th August 2009

New entry please thanks!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb