Steady Rollin'


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
November 16th 2008
Published: November 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After the high is always the come-down. It came this week with, among other things, realizing that my classes have gotten less and less satisfying, realizing some of the ways in which an Obama administration will fall short on its promises of change (Israel, employing lobbyists), and silly frustration with girrrrrll issues. But that's all okay. There's always the self-correction, and things are steady rollin' for the most part, as they always are.

The other night I saw Dengue Fever, a band from LA that mixes psych pop and traditional Cambodian music with a Cambodian vocalist who sings in Khmer. It was rather cool, though I was ready to leave after over an hour of it. Listen!:

http://www.myspace.com/denguefevermusic

I also went to Dolmabahçe Palace, the European style palace built in the mid-19th Century for the Ottman Sultans where Atatürk spent his last days. It was pretty amazing--I wish my camera hadn't died so I could have gotten a couple pictures of the interior and of the aviary. Oh well.

Pictures:
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2341075&l=6031b&id=10738138

I also added some epic pictures of North Campus to my campus album:

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2317417&l=83aca&id=10738138



Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb