Pazar = Bazaar


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
January 10th 2008
Published: January 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me with my Future Mom-in-lawMe with my Future Mom-in-lawMe with my Future Mom-in-law

At the bazaar - lot of fresh veggies!
Pazar means both bazaar and Sunday in Turkish. Cenker's mom Feyhan and I went to the Thursday bazaar less than a 10 minute walk from the house. I try to name each of the vegetables in Turkish, Feyhan helps me with the names I don't know or can't remember or fumble with pronunciation. Neighbors stopped to greet us along the way. Cenker's mom introduced me to some. With one woman I actually had a decent conversation, that is an exchange of three sentences!!! (Yeah, I'm being liberal with the definition of conversation here...) Oh yeah, nothing like a marriage proposal to encourage language skill improvement!!!! Collecting a cart full of fresh vegetables and picking up some last minute gifts for my peeps back home.... Cenker's mom Feyhan seemed to know a lot of people, we must've stopped to talk with at least 10 people or more! The bazaar is bustling, people of all ages. Once we get home, we carry the heavy veggies up the five flights of stairs. Cenker's mom holds the top end of the cart, while I lift from the bottom. One flight left to go, we stop to catch our breathe. Enjoy the pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Looking down the row of VendorsLooking down the row of Vendors
Looking down the row of Vendors

Cenker's mom leads the way!
ClothesClothes
Clothes

Clothes on display....
LemonsLemons
Lemons

Cenker's mom picks Fresh Lemons.
RadishesRadishes
Radishes

Guy sells rasihes to us...
CeleryCelery
Celery

So that's what celery really looks like?!?


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb