Good bye to Istanbul


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
January 22nd 2007
Published: January 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well my last full day I spent walking down a street called the Iskidal Cadesi. It is on the other side of the Bosphorus and I took a tram and then a Funicular to get to Taksim Square the beginning of this walk. (Did I tell you that I have been following the walking tours outlined in the Lonely Planet city guide for Istanbul?)This walk takes about 6 1/2 hours and fortunately it is all down hill!

THat area of Istanbul is WAY different from where I stay. It is very European ... quite Italian actually. The buildings are more modern (only 2-300 years old) and they are large but in the spirit of FLorence or Genoa. I was intrigued by the number of churches , (Catholic,orthodox ,polish ,Byzantine) and the shopping . Really the street is known for it's shopping, high end designers closer to the top and regular chain store /mall types as you move down . There are also quite a few embassies and consulates along the way or off to a side. It is fascinating to see how the buildings are layered. Given their age some once had courtyards and gardens surrounded by fences of iron or walls .The streets are often only one car width wide so and they are cobbled. I like it !

There was a demonstation happening as I was walking and I suspected that it had somethng to do with the murder of the journalist . There were MANY police around with riot equipment close at hand. I have found that the police prescence is very visible . THey are everywhere and in significant numbers. The citizens seem to accept them gratefully. I guess that prevention is preferable to problems.

I stopped at the Galata Tower for a drink of RAKI the national liquor. The waiter cautioned me that it was really strong and he was right. Even mixed with water (that turns it cloudy )and ice I sipped on it for an hour and it went straight to my head. I actually didn't finish it , although I enjoyed it because I don't think I would have been able to walk...I do enjoy the Turkish beer and usually have one in the evening in the common room.

Today I saw my last 2 mosques here and have packed up to go to Dubai. I will keep you posted as I go . I really do enjoy recieving your responses and Emails at my other address. Keep in touch and look for pictures soon.

Advertisement



24th January 2007

Thanks for the updates
It is so pleasant read about your travels! take care. love, Steph

Tot: 0.366s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb