A new world


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
January 24th 2007
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I arrived here @ 2am on the 23rd and it is truly a new world. After the age and stability that Istanbul represents Dubai is a city in motion...outward and upward. The population is growing everyday and the Shiek and administration of the emirate are planning for the future after oil .Tourism is the second largest industry and they are developping it rapidly. There is construction going on everywhere .Offices ,apartments ,hotels ,resorts each more spectacular than those built previously...last month. Today we attended a special Robbie Burns day meal and celebration at a friend of Lesley's. Their apartment ,on the 28th floor with an incredible view of the Persian Gulf 'is considered old . It was built in 2001!

Lesley has a series of activities planned while I am here and I am looking forward to them . The expat women have a very social life that seems to include food, drink ,exercise and cultural activities...they like to play and I will enjoy doing that with them and discovering the world of Dubai.

Yesterday I experienced some panic when 4 different ABM declared my bank card expired!What a terrible feeling to have no access to those funds .Fortunately after a flurry of Emails to Sask last night and confirmation that my bank card had not expired I successfully used a HBSC machine today,What a relief!In all likelihood it was the system here .Thank God that Visa was still functioning.

Hope all is well


Advertisement



25th January 2007

Good to hear you
We started getting your blog again today and were able to read the last two or three, which had not been coming to us. Good to hear you have arrived in UAR safe and sound. Interesting they are preparing for life after oil; yesterday Bush was on the news talking about supporting alternative energies "we've got to get started on it RIGHT NOW". Yeah, right. Have fun with the "Hufin's"!
25th January 2007

Banking
Wow! That would be a worry! Glad it worked out sooner rather than later. Don't need many problems like that to get the heart pumping. Take care. Have fun.
25th January 2007

Good hearing from you.
Hello Pam, I hope you are getting my responses. Happy to hear you worked out the problem with your visa; that would be scary when traveling. I spent a great day celebrating my birthday and Jack even got me a carrot cake. It is cool here today but the sky is blue and all is well. I had great conversations with family helping me to celebrate. Bye for now, Dorina
27th January 2007

Greetings from Phoenix
Hi,Gteat to hear about your travels in Turkey and now in Dubai.At brother Mike's for 2 days.Had a great drive south.Gambled in Mesquite and mow are enjoying great hospitality. Have fun and be safe. Nettie

Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1012s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb