Arriving in Istanbul


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
January 13th 2007
Published: January 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The flights and the day were realy quite uneventful.Just a long day...however the arrival was a bit of a jolt.!All that careful packing and throwing my jacket into checked baggage at the last minute and lo and behold my case didn't make it here at the same time I did. Thank goodness I had a change of clothes and the essentials in my dy pack.

I found my hostel without much trouble and it is a funny little place centrally located and staffed by kind and helpful people . I walked for hours in the neighbourhood and realized that I am very near the Grand Bazaar . The city itself is really unique. Not like any I have been in before.I like that!

This morning after sleeping 11 hours (thanks to a sleeping pill) I was happy to discover that my suitcase had arrived and I think that I have overcome my time shift (I think it is 9 hours different). It was drizzling a little so I was REALLY happy to get my jacket . I have been walking most of the day. It cleared up nicely by 11 so I have started with my walking tours. I also spent some time in a rug shop and learned about patterns,knots,and materials used in rugs. It was an interesting experience .

The Blue Mosque is impressive but the Haggia Sophia is amazing!They remind me of Anchor Wat a little. The grandness (?) is awesome. I guess St Peter's in Rome has the same feel .

The people I have encountered have been really friendly. They may have something to sell but they also seem to enjoy chatting . Mind you I just told a fellow that I had just bought 2 carpets this morning and I didn't need another. He seemed to understand that .

I'm off to explore a bit more before dark .Hope all is well .

Advertisement



13th January 2007

All Is Well
Glad all went well in your travels......everythign is great here. Temperature went up to minus 20 from minus 30 and it now seems balmy. Laura is at a weekend retreat and Blair and I will just hang about. Love the back porch for coffee and newspaper in the morning. We love the friendly people in Turkey,even if they do want to sell something they still are curious about you and will offer tea. How pleasant!!! Enjoy!!! Send more notes...... Kelly (for Laura and Blair, too)
14th January 2007

Montréal
Hi Good for you, it was a good start though the suitcase delay could have been trouble....but you have a good star...and a good spirit. You are saying that Istambul is like nothing else, quite amazing...not so european then. And you compare to Angkor witch was so extraordinary. I recognise your curiocity with the rug makers, I see you chatting with them. Those 2 rugs where quite the idea. Are they all over you like those little old ladies in Sapa selling us things? I remember it has quite an experience. Them all over you and still see the picture in my head. Are you still plannig in staying in the 2 differents Istambul community? Remember 3 nights in the same bed.... Bye have a nice trip Suzanne.
14th January 2007

What you're missing
Pam,you escaped (and I arrived home in time for) some pretty serious minus46 eyeball freezind weather, with blizzards farther north. I'm glad you're going to share your trip this way and will be watching for more updates. Yay. On with the adventure.
16th January 2007

Great idea . . .
What a great way to let us travel with you - I'm living vicariously again! Looking forward to your next adventure! Take care . . .

Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0774s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb