Awesome


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
January 16th 2007
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Istanbul contınues to delıght.I spent yesterday ın Topkapi .I guess I never realızed how large a complex ıt ıs. At some poınts ıt housed more than 500 people. The prıvate lıvıng quarters (the Haram) was/is truly amazıng.The tiles ,stained glass, gold leaf ,inlayed mother-of-pearl are opulent . Way more so than anything I have seen in England . More Oriental than Europian I guess.I fınd ıt quıte amazıng that the Sultans were really the sons of slaves!The women of the haram were slaves from many parts of the world. They were not muslim for a muslim could not enslave a muslim...Interestıng.

Last night I went to an original Turkish Haman (bath house) for an authentic experience.WOW! .After about 30 miutes on a heated marble platform I was scrubbed and exfoliated with a mitten then massaged with soap , masses of soap bubbles periodically rinsed and soaped again for @15 minutes . This was followed by a hair washing and rinse ,then I was left to relax on the marble platform again . A great experience !!

Today has been quite cold so I spent my time shopping around the Grand Bazaar area .After a pleasant time talking and visiting in a Wholesale shop near my hotel (I am in the same place but I have upgraded to a hotel room which is really comfortable) I ended up buying a kelim which will fit into my back porch nicely. I also purchased a hip scarf in the Bazaar so that I will jingle when I dance.

I really am enjoying this city.

Advertisement



16th January 2007

Awesome
Sounds fabulous, Pam, glad to hear all is going well and interesting. What the heck is a "kelim" that will fit into your porch nicely---a marble table? a young Turk with a massaging mitten? some other Turkish delight?
17th January 2007

Winter
Yes! at last! winter has come! Monday we had 20 cm of beautiful white stuff. Imagine my activity on tuesday....skiing of course. What a beautiful day.... So different from your routine of the day, was it. I sure would have loved the massage and the scrubbing after my day of skiing. Good day Suzanne.

Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0951s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb