Day 91 - Killing Time


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
September 30th 2023
Published: September 30th 2023
Edit Blog Post

It's over. Our flight today is at 8:05pm and our pick up for airport transfer is at 3:30pm so we have time to kill.We both decide to go for a morning walk. I head for the water from to the south of us, somewhere I haven't visited. There are green spaces but oddly they are fenced off, so just for show and not for use. Fishermen try their early morning luck off the walk way. All is good until the rain rolls in, and all I can do is hide under a tree. Now wet, I wait out the showers and head back to the apartment to dry out my clothes.
We go down to the bikes and Jeff finishes his pack and we're done by 11:30am, 4 hours to kill. We head off in different directions and arrange to meet back at the apartment at 3:00pm. Apart from getting caught in another down pour I wandered streets I hadn't been to before and visited one last mosque where Sultan Sulyeman The Magnificent was buried along with his family. For the last hour I went to small family restaurant we had visited a couple of times to have a Turkish Tea, when I was ready to leave they insisted the tea was free. Instead I explained I had no need for any Turkish Lira and emptied my wallet, paying about 4 times what it was worth.
Our transfer turned up in time but in a vehicle not really big enough for our bike boxes. Initially he said he couldn't take us but a call to the boss convinced him otherwise. Our boxes were loaded into the seating compartment and we squashed in next to them. We reach the (correct) airport at 5pm, 3 hours ahead of the flight.
Now we had all been stressing about weigh in, and it was a measured decision as to what went in checked baggage (7kgs) and what went in carry on (30kgs). I managed to nail it with 6.9kgs and 29.6kgs respectively. What a relief. Next up was Jeff, he blew it, with 7.1kgs and 35.6kgs respectively. A conversation ensued and basically the check in lady bent the rules (into a pretzel) and allowed it through without charging anything for excess baggage. A major stroke of luck.
We're currently sitting in th boarding lounge awaiting boarding for our first leg. It really is over.
I'll post an Epilogue when I get home in a couple of days.
Cheers


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Fishing off the board walkFishing off the board walk
Fishing off the board walk

You can see all of the barges lined up in the background


Tot: 0.4s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb