Back to Istanbul...


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
June 5th 2022
Published: June 11th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Here we are, back on the road! Imagine, we are not yet at the half mark of 2022...and suddenly Covid is feeling so far away. I have to admit, my friends left in China do have a very different view about the issue...being on hard lockdown in Shanghai for 76 days while the world is enjoying a new freedom to travel is not what you are awaiting for as an expat. I guess for them too freedom will come...rather soon than later!



First stop, a little food and shopping one in Istanbul. Tanya has seen the city...and I've been here few times, but it's a first together. Friday night flight on Turkish Airways from Joburg was fully booked. I may be gold level with them, funny enough, it's my first long-haul with them. Clearly better than most, but still way behind Emirates or Qatar.



We made it early to Istanbul. No more masks, not in the plane, neither in any places in Turkey. I can tell you it felt good, but for us masks are far away to be over for 2022....so let's enjoy the moment!



Covid is clearly over in Europe, or at least the look of it. I was here exactly the same time last year, and I had the place for myself. This time it's different, the crowds are back. We are here mainly to enjoy a little shopping, so not many pictures on this blog. Sadly, the Basilica Cistern is still closed. I love this place and would visit it over and over. The Basilica was in serious need of renovation as there was some fears that it would simply collapsed at some point. So it has been under renovation since middle 2020. Covid did help to push the renovation date ahead, but now it's nearly two years and I can't wait for the place to re-open.



We are staying in what is supposed to be a gorgeous hotel, I name the St Regis. Sadly, we are experiencing first hand what most of Europe and America is going to dread this summer. The crowds are back, the inflation has exploded, but the hospitality industry is simply understaffed. Very weird to be staying in a hotel where the basic room today start at 1,000 euros a night. Don't worry, I'm organized, and I used only few points. Prices are crazy, but when you ask where is the concierge, you are being told he is starting at 11am! Sorry?!? And this was valid for any interaction with the staff. I will not accept that hotels think it's ok to double their normal price, only to run at 70% of staff needed! Good news, so far, and we are 8 days in the trip, it was the only let down of what has been some of the best places we've been in years!



When my friends are asking me, are you going to Europe this summer? The answer is simply not, I'm not going to be entertained by 200 euros a night old Mercure/Novotel or 80 euros per day to rent a basic small car. Sadly, not going to stop us avoiding super expensive airline fares, but I'm doing my best. Not doing so far for the moment when you'll read the coming blogs, as there are still some solid bargains around it you know where to look.



Hope you enjoy the following blogs, next one will have way more nicer pictures...and yes it's dry and hot around here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb