Monday 29th July 2013 Malatya to Elazig


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Eastern Anatolia
July 29th 2013
Published: August 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

My car after the accidentMy car after the accidentMy car after the accident

My car after the accident
Mon 29th July 2013
Malatya to Elazig

Got up early at the campsite near Nemrut. Washed and set off by about 7.30am. Drove through those scary roads that were very long and steep uphill and downhill. These roads were also very bendy as well and I was praying that my brakes would not fail me.

9.30 am outside of Malatya, I was suddenly hit by another vehicle sideways on the passenger side. The car spun 340 degrees and I just managed to steer it away from a lamp post and a brick wall. The police was called and arrived within 15 minutes. I was asked to show them my insurance document, driver licence and log book. Imagine all this has to be done when the Turkish police do not speak English and I don't Turkish. We were then taken to the local police station to take statements. Then the police helped me to call for a tow to the nearest garage.

This time I was lucky, I escaped without any injuries, but the car fared badly.

The car had the wheel replaced by the spare and the suspension linkage arm that came off was re-connected.

I was then driving towards Elazig. Elazig was a small town with expensive hotels, I managed to find one that was reasonably priced. Some stranger bought me cay (3 cups) and I was very grateful. Ate locally, then went to bed early.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

This is the van that hit me from the side.This is the van that hit me from the side.
This is the van that hit me from the side.

This is the van that hit me from the side.
Towed to the nearest garageTowed to the nearest garage
Towed to the nearest garage

Towed to the nearest garage
A very worried looking man (Not me)A very worried looking man (Not me)
A very worried looking man (Not me)

A very worried looking man (Not me)


Tot: 0.415s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0952s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb