Tuesday 30th July 2013 - Elazig to Erzurum


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Eastern Anatolia » Erzurum
July 30th 2013
Published: August 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Tues 30th July 2013

Set off from Elazig to Erzurum which is about 200 miles journey. half way through the journey heard this strange grinding noise from the car. Stopped to have a look and found out one of the linkage bar that connect the two rear wheels has broken after the accident, but not repaired. I tied a thick electrical cable around the metal bar to another metal bar for support to stop it hanging loose and grinding against the metal rim of the wheel.

The rear differential was leaking of oil, also due to the accident - again not repaired properly in Malatya.

I drove quickly to Erzurum to find a garage to repair the car. In Erzurum, i asked a stranger where is the nearest garage and he kindly pointed me to the Mercedes dealers. At Mercedes, they were helpful, trying to offer me genuine mercedes parts and labour, but I asked if the bar can be welded back on - a much cheaper solution, so they kindly passed me on to a welder in Erzurum. Could not find the welder, so I paid for a taxi driver to guide me there. The mechanic was very good, took three hours and it was 9.30pm by the time we finished.

Tired, exhausted and hungry, I looked for the nearest hotel to stay for the night in Erzurum.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb