Ottoman Heartlands


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Central Anatolia » Cappadocia
May 18th 2006
Published: August 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

AnkaraAnkaraAnkara

Ankara citadel
So after the ruins it was time for a short break as told in my last message so I opted to go into the old Ottoman heartland...

First stop Ankara! Ankara is quite expensive, but I met some cool Turkish students who walked around with me as I was sightseeing and later took me for dinner... Thanks Halil and Gokhan!

After this I went to Safranbolu a town which has preserved all the old ottoman houses. The people were really friendly and laid back and I was whisked into many a shop, not to sell me stuff, no... For having a tea with me and strike up a conversation!

Then on to Amasra on the Black Sea coast another laid back place... Than it was time for a two day trip to Sinop, not that I planned to take two days to get there, but busses are rather thinly spread on the ground so I got about half way and there were no more busses going onward.. The scenery was amazing though with the road winding it's way along the valleys of the Black Sea coast... Sinop is nice, but it was raining so I didn't do that
AnkaraAnkaraAnkara

Museum of Anatolian Civilisations
much walking around.

From Sinop I went to Amasy via Samsun... Again it was raining and by this time I was thinking I had been cursed as it seemed to be following me around, but as I went out to look at the Pontic tombs which are carved out in the cliffs surrounding the town, the sun miraculously appeared... Not cursed after all...

Than on to Hattusa, a word of advice for those planning to visit: don't go on a weekend as there are no minibusses to the village and you will be forced like me to take a taxi for forty lira!! The minibus costs two lira... On the upside with my long expired student card I did get into the site for free!

Than it was time for Cappadocia with it's weird landscape, underground cities, cave dwellings and many, many rock hewn churches, some with incredible frescoes... And the laid back atmosphere makes things all the more enjoyable…



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

AnkaraAnkara
Ankara

Column of Julian
AnkaraAnkara
Ankara

Hallil at Anit Kabir
AnkaraAnkara
Ankara

Anit Kabir, Ataturk's Mausoleum
AnkaraAnkara
Ankara

Me at his grave
SafranboluSafranbolu
Safranbolu

Ottoman houses in Safranbolu
SafranboluSafranbolu
Safranbolu

My room in Safranbolu
AmasraAmasra
Amasra

View of Amasra and the Black Sea
AmasyaAmasya
Amasya

Pontic tombs above Amasya
AmasyaAmasya
Amasya

Ottoman houses in Amasya
HattusaHattusa
Hattusa

Upper city
HattusaHattusa
Hattusa

This green cubic rock was a present of Egyptian pharao Ramses II
HattusaHattusa
Hattusa

Lion Gate
HattusaHattusa
Hattusa

Hieroglyph chamber, possibly part of a Royal tomb
HattusaHattusa
Hattusa

Yazilikaya (Inscribed Rock) with the Stormgod Teshub, his wife Hepatu the Sungoddess, their son Sharruma and possibly two daughters at the end
CappadociaCappadocia
Cappadocia

View of Goreme with Uchisar Castle in the back
CappadociaCappadocia
Cappadocia

Matt and Meghan in the Dirinkuyu underground city
CappadociaCappadocia
Cappadocia

And me in one of the underground chambers
CappadociaCappadocia
Cappadocia

Zelve open-air museum (old Zelve)
CappadociaCappadocia
Cappadocia

Red valley
CappadociaCappadocia
Cappadocia

Devrent Valley (Valley of Fairy Chimneys)
CappadociaCappadocia
Cappadocia

Goreme open-air museum
CappadociaCappadocia
Cappadocia

Fresco in the Apple Church
CappadociaCappadocia
Cappadocia

and another fresco in the Apple Church
CappadociaCappadocia
Cappadocia

Fresco in the Snake Church, St. Onuphrius hides his nudity behind a date palm front


Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 36; qc: 156; dbt: 0.2148s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb