First time living abroad


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Black Sea » Sinop
January 10th 2009
Published: January 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

1st time living abroad


As so often happens in the Army a soldier gets married and his first assignment after the marriage is overseas unaccompanied. This is what happened with us. Robert and I traveled back across the country to CA one more time to drop me off while he served a year unaccompanied overseas. Well I was never one to back down from a challenge so a few short months into his tour we convinced my parents to pay for my plane ticket overseas. So I picked up my life and moved to a westernized Muslim country. A rural town on the Black Sea called Sinop. I lived there for nearly 6 months before the PKK terrorists made it unsafe for American's to be living in Turkey. Thankfully Robert's tour of duty was cut short as the base was being closed down and he returned in December of 1992.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 19; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb