Zalabiye and Halabiye


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria
April 21st 2010
Published: April 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The floating bridgeThe floating bridgeThe floating bridge

Yes, it's that little line across the water
I took a day trip from Dayr az Zawr to visit the old twin cities of Zalabiye and Halabiye. First I along the northern shore of the Euphrates to see Zalabiye. There's not much left of the city, as it is very exposed on an outer bend of the Euphrates and most of it has crumbled into the river over the years I guess.

I crossed the river on a fun floating bridge a few kms upstream to get to Halabiye. Halabiye has fared a lot better over the centuries, there is still alot to see there. I decided to hang around till after dark to take some night shots (btw, don't bother with a digital camera, long exposures just get way to noisy), while bats started flying in and out of the ruins around me.

By the time I was done it was after 8 pm, and I drove back to Dayr az Zawr in the pitch dark. I knew the road already, but still had some nasty shocks because not all Syrian believe lights are necesary if your truck only goes 30 per hour anyway. Once again I survived, but was glad when I reached the city though.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Failed night shot attemptFailed night shot attempt
Failed night shot attempt

Makes a nice postcard I guess :-)


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb