The road to Al Hasake


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » North » Al Hasakah
April 22nd 2010
Published: April 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Around noon I set of for Al Hasake. It looked a bit windy but I wasn't that worried. Yup. My first sandstorm! Not a huge one hamdallah, but enough to give me a proper sandblasting and respect for the real thing should I ever run into it. From one minute to the next visibility dropped to about 5 metres and I was choking on dust.

It passed quite quickly, but the improved view did not offer much news: it's a long mostly straight road with some abandoned houses once in a while. About halfway to Hasake some villages started appearing and I stopped to get a drink. One of the guys there pointed out that my little extra petrol tank that I have mounted on the bike was dripping. It looks like it is just a few cms to big, and a small hole had worn into the the tank from rubbing against my chain guard whenever I tried to miss a pothole but did not. Will have to get that fixed back in Aleppo.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb