Blog 3 Qatar


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
November 27th 2012
Published: November 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It's day 6 in Qatar and, right now, it's 11:34 p.m. This morning we went to the conference exhibition grounds for the first time. They had a ton of different booths set up, most of them showing new green technologies that are being developed. Probably the coolest thing I saw was an electric car that runs completely off solar energy; you plug it into a car port with solar panels on top and, in a few hours, it's ready to go! Of course, it also costs about $125 000, so I don't think I'll be getting one any time soon. Another interesting invention at the exhibition was a machine that takes humidity from the air, and condenses it to get water. This would be especially useful in Qatar, where they have almost no fresh water available. Once again, however, it's extremely expensive. Also at the exhibition, they had booths set up to sell environmentally friendly products. I bought a phone charger that runs completely of solar energy. It's tree-shaped and super cute.

Later on today, we went for a guided tour of Doha city. Our tour guide told us tons of interesting things, like that the king of Qatar has three wives. Apparently that's actually really normal here, which surprised me because I thought the only people who still did that were the people on Sister Wives. He also told us that they only have to pay 20 cents a liter for gas here! I'm still not sure if I believe that but if it's true that's really not fair.

After we got back from our city tour today, I worked on open statement my youth working group is writing regarding youth participation in the conference. It's really cool to work with so many people from around the world; I've made friends with people from Germany, Qatar, Australia, Sudan, Singapore, etc. I also got to meet some older (young 20s) delegates from Canada who I plan to keep in touch with when I get back. So far, Qatar has been an amazing experience, and today was probably the best day so far.

P.S. Sorry I couldn't put pictures I'm typing on the iPad. Next blog I'll put like five.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb