The Adventures of Indiana Jones


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
November 1st 2012
Published: November 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

I haven't written much lately as there is not much to write. Definitely, few pictures to take, but I'll try again this weekend.

Work keeps me extremely busy. I go to work at 6:45 in the morning and leave the office around 6:30 in the evening. Which is ok, because all I do is sit in my hotel room and watch TV anyway. Tuesday night - I had a big report due, but I fell asleep at 9. I woke up at 1am and couldn't stop thinking of it, so I just got up and almost finished before going back to bed at 3am. Then back up at 5:30 to finish. Ick. Eventually, I may make my way to the health club onsite and at least ride a bike for a while.

The first two days at the airport were nice; we actually were done at 4 or 4:30. On Tuesday, I stopped by the site and then drove to the office. Or tried to. I was actually proud of myself of making my way through town towards the industrial area.... then I had no friggin clue! The industrial area is a maze of warehouses, accommodations, dead vehicles, sand, people, etc. There are very few through roads, so it is easy to get lost and turned around. I wound up just calling the office and waited until the driver came to lead me back. Now I know. And goodness- the driving! Always the driving! People are just crazy and totally impatient here. Beeps everywhere, people just walk right along the road or right in front of you. If someone is turning the other cars go off road and speed around, kicking up dust with no thought of what might pull in front of the car in front. Roundabouts all over. No turn signals. Parking whereever you find a spot. Either big cars or teensy cars - not a great mix. Frightening doesn't even begin to describe it.

My coworker, let's call him Indiana, allowed me to keep the Beast, even though he likes it. Why? Safety reasons. The Beast is much better for me because if (WHEN) I'm in an accident, it won't be too bad. Speaking of which, I saw a car literally wrapped around a phone pole today - I'm not sure how people do this here. Well, I do know - they drive and speed like maniacs! I doubt the person survived as the driver's side was completely crushed.

I let Indiana drive home from work yesterday as he really likes the Beast and I'm still a little nervous about driving here. On this one road from the industrial area, it is like a kilometer of straight road with a guardrail in the middle. He turned onto this road before realizing the traffic was backed up all the way to where we entered. We were basically f**ked. Oh no, the Beast (and Indiana) are all about offroading. So he, as well as many other cars, just booked it along the desert shoulder, passing the poor suckers waiting and waiting and waiting. We made it to the roundabout and took off. I looked at him like "Oh, you're one of those people." I'm glad he is! We then proceeded to one of the few hotels that serve alcohol and had dinner with a glass of wine, while discussing our vision of the office here.

Like every other night this week, I was in bed by nine. PAIT!!! I can't wait for the weekend and rest!

Advertisement



11th November 2012

Indiana huh...
Is he from Indiana like me?? :) Or does he resemble Indiana Jones? hahahaha Well I'm glad he gave you the Beast, sounds like he's got your back while you are there at least! :)

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb