Qatar: from Lisa's perspective


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
December 16th 2008
Published: December 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Okay, after a long period of company deliberation it looks like I am actually going to go to Qatar to work. Eeek, my head now says 'be careful what you wish for'! That's not entirely true but I do know this is where the challenge begins. I don't really know what to expect, or necessarily expect it to be a good experience but I am desperately hoping it will be and the intention is to work from Doha for up to 9-10 months...I will take it a month at a time!

The obvious downsides are being away from my beloved family and close friends (you know who you are) and the expectation that I will have to work very very hard, however I am optimistic about finding some rich experiences that will go some way to creating a counterbalance and make it all worthwhile 😊 - cultural awareness, escaping the credit crunch, water sports (?), personal development (learning, reading, getting fit) ... she says in a hopeful high pitch tone!

I'm thankful that I get to spend the next few weeks at home. So, I'm making the most of the blustery, wintery goodness that comes with the UK territory and am planning on a cosy, log fire retreat to mum and dad's for Christmas, which will seem a million miles away from the heat I am about to endure in Qatar in due course I'm sure.

Departure from Heathrow - Doha is scheduled for 07:55 hrs on Saturday 3rd Jan 09. So, I'm in the midst of arranging flights, travel vaccs, insurance, what to take and am signing up with all potential airlines to make sure I get airmile pointsus maximus. Question of the week has been 'where can I buy linen clothes this time of year?' - important stuff then!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb