the work begins


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
December 19th 2006
Published: December 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arrival in Doha was very uneventful. The plane ride was great and I got to watch Psycho for the very first time. I got picked up on schedule and had the whole day to relax while I waited for my pass. I did check out the Souqs which were cool but didn't offer a huge selection of tourist stuff. As far as a middle eastern place, it's very relaxing here. Doha appears to be a bit of a boom town with bad traffic and lots of construction. At least the food is great.

In the souqs, a Qatari man invited me to have some fresh flat bread with egg and cheese (velveeta or vache-qui-rit). He paid the vendor and told me that he wanted me to experience some local food. This kind of experience tells me that the average tourist should have no problems getting around. I don't feel any discomfort getting around town.

Overall there's very little to see or do in Doha. It's not developed a booming tourist industry. I'd guess the majority of travellers are involved with the gas industry. So keep your expectations low and enjoy what you find.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb