Frankincense, Beads, Daggers and Forts


Advertisement
Oman's flag
Middle East » Oman » Muscat » Muttrah
January 19th 2012
Published: January 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

What a lot you can do in 4 days here in Oman. And many thanks to Tamsin and her family I have been most warmly welcomed here from a pickup at the airport to a comfy bed in their lovely villa, swimming in their pool and delicious food. They've been my tour guides and even gave me a car to drive. What it is to have such generous warmhearted friends.

In between lazing around in the garden and swimming in my first 2 days there has been a visit to the Souq, Muttrah old town and harbour , lunch at the Marina overlooked by the British Ambassador's residence and then a visit to one of Oman's many forts. The souq is fabulous with such a range of goodies-from giant pans (imagine them full of rice and stirring the pot with a spoon a yard long!) to the most beautiful beads , daggers , spices, clothes and plastic bowls - and of course Oman is famed for its frankincense so Jonathan and Robin did some bargaining and I got some with a little burner and charcoal. On dark winter nights I shall light it and sit by the fire - and the souq will be conjured up for me.

Omanis are lovely people - friendly and helpful and I must say the driving isn't so frenetic as it is in Dubai- a much better pace of life I think. They are rightly very proud of their long history and heritage and there is a lot to see here - I have just scratched the surface. Maybe I can come back?

Dylan did an amazing job showing Tamsin and I round Nakheel Fort - we had to visit every nook and cranny and he, of course, had to have a rest on the cushions at every opportunity.

Glad to see my pics are cheering up some of you in darkest chilly UK. Here is some more sunshine for you all.

Love Lynne xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Day 1 at the Souq, Muttrah (8)Day 1 at the Souq, Muttrah (8)
Day 1 at the Souq, Muttrah (8)

Not to be taken in hand baggage.


21st January 2012

Well, certainly sounds like you are having a lovely restful time while we suffer with the cold!!! Enjoy and look forward to seeing you when you are back xxx
22nd January 2012

brings back lovely memories
Marilyn & I were thinking of our wonderful 3 weeks with you at Dubai (9years ago)!!! certainly remember most of the places you mention on the blog---but guess wouldnt recognise now! I will never forget seeing that lovely sports stadium one morning travelling out--and coming back to it having been demolished as was on the location where the Burg khaliffe was to be built!!!! Have a great time Lynne we are on our travels tomo--Somerset!!!! Love from all
23rd January 2012

Fabulous pics lynne
Great colours all bathed in sunshine!
24th January 2012

When do you get to dust?
Hey Lyn. That comment was a joke of course. I'm home a lot more than you are and try not to worry too much about the dusting anyway. What a wonderful time you are having - I have never been to the middle east and it looks like a wonderful place to put on my ever-growing list. Take care and enjoy the sunshine. It has been pouring ins-e Queensland yesterday and overnight so a few people are getting a bit wary about flooding but I think we are all save this time around. When are you coming down under to see us again???
27th January 2012

lovely Oman
Oh what happy memories your photos evoke. I fell in love with Oman and it arrived in my life at a time when I wasn't exactly at my best. Seeing your photos brings it all back. Not sure that I agree with you about Omani drivers though- they must be pretty bad in Dubai!

Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 36; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb