Beach time!! =)


Advertisement
Lebanon's flag
Middle East » Lebanon » Jbeil
July 1st 2012
Published: July 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Another great day! After sleeping in (Lebanese are definitely night owls and NOT early birds), Joelle, Joanna and I went to the "beach". It was actually a beach resort. It was beautiful. We walked down to the big pool surrounded by lounge chairs. A bar was to the far side of the pool and a DJ played hits from the US, Lebanon and Europe. The the side of the big pool, there was a smaller pool with a beautiful waterfall flowing into it. To the other side, the Mediterranean Sea provided a picturesque view. Joelle, Joanna and I spent our time lying on our lounge chairs soaking up the sun and enjoying the cool water of the pool. (A day for which I am now paying with a doooozy of a sunburn. But, well worth it) =) After having spent much of our time by the pool side, we ventured down to the beach. I got to swim in the Mediterranean Sea!!!!!!!!!! =) =) I have no idea why, but I was really really excited about that (in case you couldn't tell) ;-)

That night was the European Cup championship game between Spain and Italy. I was sooooo suprised by how into this game everyone here was. You'ld have thought I was in one of those countries. Flags for spain or Italy flew from many of the cars and people were picking teams. Originally we were going to watch the game here at home. Then plans changed. Instead we headed to a restaurant with Christian, one of Joanna's cousins, and his girlfriend. They were showing the game on a big screen there. The car ride to the restaurant was crazy and exciting. Joelle, Joanna, Joye and I piled into the back of the small economy sized car. We darted in and out of traffic, made pinwheel turns onto steep and curvy streets as we wound our way toward our destination. Along the way, we stopped to buy Italian flags for the game. 3 of us were rooting for spain and 3 of us for Italy. I was rooting for Italy and was unfortunately very very disappointed. As we drove to the game, Christian's girlfriend hung the Italian flag out the window (The Spanish flag was already on the back of the car) and Christian and she were cheering the whole drive. It was so much fun!



Side note: Just in hanging out at somepoint during the day, Joanna looked at me and said "I want to cut you up into pieces and eat you" lol apparently that's an Arabic saying for when you think someone is cute/adorable. I just had to laugh at the saying. It certainly doesn't translate well. Had to share it with you all. =) And, if I end up dissappearing during this trip you'll now all know why. hahaha

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb