Skiing and Sun in Beirut - Lebanon


Advertisement
Lebanon's flag
Middle East » Lebanon » Beirut
April 28th 2010
Published: April 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Skiing in Lebanon was absolutely a risky experience considering that I've never really skied before I went to Lebanon. I did however prepared myself for some dangerous consequences, like a possibly twisting a leg or two or end up with broken angkle.

Our ride took an hour from the city of Beirut, all the way to the mounain top. One thing I've noticed about the city is that some of their old typical ruined buildings have bullet holes. This country was unmistakably in the middle of the war zone as well as facing some troubles between their neighbouring countries. Someone once told me that Beirut was another version of Northern Ireland. Personally, even with all the troubles, I find this place very special. I love the food, I love the way the modern people of Beirut dress and present themselves as if every day is an ocassion to celebrate. Also, who would have thought you can combine a ski and a sunny holiday together in the Middle East?

The ski resort that we went to was called Faraya Mazaar, named after the biggest village just below the ski resort, It is now called Mzaar Ski resort. This place is covered with natural beauty and picturesque mountain sceneries.

Upon arriving in to the mountain, I sanked in silence. It was -8 degree and I was literally frozen down to my spines. I have never experienced a weather such as this especially coming from Dubai with weather as low as 18 degree and high as 45 degree during summer. The worse part was the hotel forgot to switch the heater on in our room so I had to sleep with my gloves, hat, jacket and skiing socks on!

I was with my ski instructor the first day, which only lasted an hour. I was then on my own for the next 2 days skiing in the beginners slope faster than I could ever imagine without turning left or right. It was a blood-pumping experience! I absolutely loved it!!!

The cool mountain breeze and the speed got me going to the second level. This level was a much bigger and narrower slope but seeing that I've developed full confident in myself, I went flying straight down the bottom and was unaware of people below me who are standing still in the middle of the slope below. It all happened within a blink of an eye, all I could remember was making an emergency stop and diving at the corner side, head first. I have slammed half of my body on to the snow! It was such a close call to collision with the other people!

I laughed my head off after I made sure I still got my whole body parts intact and nothing was damage! I then heard a man up above me screaming in arabic. With him, was a small boy, possibly 10 years of age. I gave him a thumbs up and assuring him I was OK, but he still came down to me, spoke in broken english and screamed "You... YOU, you kill two people today!" and that was the end of that slope ride for me.

Jane and I later met up before lunch time, she was a professional skier and pretty good in ski maneuver. She skied a few times with me in the beginners slope and invited me to go to the 'black pole' with her. Shockingly I said 'Yes' When we reached at the very top, I froze at the thought of coming down, but tried it anyway until I fell a couple of times, freaked out and finally lost my confidence. Sadly I had to go down the slope on my bum! 😞

After 3 days of skiing we head down to Beirut downtown.

A few recommendation for nightlife and shops are:
Gemayze- It's a long street with cozy bars, restaurants and lots of fancy cars.
Going club to club along Rue Monot (Ashrafieh) or Rue Bliss (Hamra), in Beirut Central District is quite fun
Hamra Street is the center of all. all types of restaurants, lots of shops,where you can get almost anything you could think

Sadly one day after we departed from Beirut, the former Prime Minister Rafiq Hariri was assassinated on Feb. 14, 2005, in a huge car bomb explosion that left a big crater on the road. It was the saddest day for the people of Lebanon.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb