Arrival


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan
June 17th 2010
Published: June 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Right now I'm sitting in my 6th floor apartment in Tla'al Ali Amman, listening to the call to prayer, the same call that woke me up at 3:30AM this morning. Most cities and large towns throughout the Middle East have loudspeakers that broadcast the call to prayer, which lets Muslims know when to pray, five times daily. It's beautiful, but I'll have to get used to hearing it throughout the night. It's easy to see that Jordan is a very religious country; as soon as we arrived in the airport we could see the ladies prayer room and the men's prayer room so there's private space to pray even when traveling.

After we left the airport we took a bus through Amman to our apartment building. I was exhausted when we arrived, but was excited to see my new room. The apartments are really nice, we have a kitchen, living room and bathroom for the four of us who are sharing a suite. I took some quick pictures during our first day here, I'll take and post better ones later.










This is the view from my window at night.












This is a view of the capital of Jordan, Amman. I took this picture in the field next to my apartment.






This is another view of Amman, you can see the main highway of the city in the background. That's me and my friend Tyler.










Amman.
Posted by Picasa


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb