digging


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » West » Madaba
June 20th 2007
Published: June 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

up the hillup the hillup the hill

here we are walking up the hill to site
Each moring we get up at 5am to be on site at 5:30am. We start out by going over the goals for the day. To get into my square we travel down some stone steps and then down across three suporting walls. It is around 6 metres into the ground. We haul rocks and take soil samples for each new level we uncover. Today we came down on an almost intacted vase from the Iron Age. Pretty amazing. However while cleaning around the vase and other pottery sherds I dropped a rock on my pinky finger, and automatically pulled it out. When I took it out it was bleeding pretty bad and as my team lead was wrapping it up she let me know that it might be broken. The pain was acute. So now I am known as half a worker as I can only use my one hand. People here are all getting really sick, each day we only have half of the students. However everyone still seems to be happy to be here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

sitesite
site

in our hole


22nd June 2007

Yikes! I hope your finger isn't broke, that'll suck :( And I hope you don't get sick either! But the pictures are amazing! Glad to hear you're enjoying it.
27th June 2007

Laura! Ow, your poor finger. I'm glad it's going well other than that. Miss you! Take care.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb