Amman, Still


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
August 9th 2006
Published: August 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday August 8, 2006 - Got up today with no particular plans, as my trip to the Dead Sea was canceled. Of course it was canceled, it was a little too good to be true. He had "training" today. Oh well. Instead I tried to get in touch with the Russian and Chinese embassies in Istanbul in order to get correct visa information.

Let me just take an aside and say that I am ready to leave Jordan. Although it's not nearly as bad as Egypt was, I am still uncomfortable here as a woman and it gets worse everyday. I seem to attract crazy amounts of unwanted attention. Just lucky I guess. For example, there is a man from Syria who stays in my hotel and finds all kinds of excuses to come to my room. Last night at 11:15pm he knocked on the door and brought us peach cola and tried to get kisses on the cheek. This morning he brought he breakfast and later he brought me perfume from Syria, which he proceeded to rub on my face (why?). He's mentioned supper tonight but I'm thinking a big fat no.

There are also all the guys on the street. They all ask where I'm from (Australia, America, France), what my name is (Ann), where I am going (that way), and if I'm married (yes, see the ring?). I can't believe I even have to lie about being married. But the unwanted attention never ends and I am ready to at least deal with it in a new country. Bring it on Turkey.

I like to be anonymous when I travel, and it is absolutely impossible to do just about anywhere I've been. They all know my name, what I eat, when I eat, the juice I like.... Can't they at least pretend not to know? I'm American, I like it when people ignore you. For the first time I really wish I had enough money to travel to a country where I would blend in (Canada, Australia, New Zealand, most of Europe) and do it lavishly and in style, in hotels where they just ignore you unless you need something. Instead I have to go home today and drink tea with the hotel manager. It's too much.

Ok, anyway, sorry for the rant. Later in the day I went to try to find a call center to call embassies in Istanbul, but that was a bust. But I did see the vegetable and fruit market, which was near the meat place as well. I saw baby chickens and ducks, as well as whole dead skinned animals hanging up in shop windows. Highly attractive. Passed a pharmacy and bought some new face wash which doesn't foam but promises to provide some anti-aging benefit. Disappointing but I'll live through it.

Went back to the hotel and had tea with the manager at the hotel, as requested. Then I went out for schwarms for dinner, a pomegranite juice, which I didn't really like, and then some more internet time. Came back to the hotel and packed and listened to some music while reading a Cosmo magazine from January I found - super new for me.

Wednesday - Last day in Amman so I thought I'd better see the sites. First I repacked my bag, as I realized I needed something from the bottom. I really have to ship some things home from Turkey - carrying too much. Then I had breakfast with the hotel manager, since he had asked me to yesterday. He treated and while we were eating he mentioned that if I would like to return next year, we could take a trip to Syria, Sudan, and India and he would pay for everything. We could also open a store together in the US when he moves back there so he can teach me how to make lots of money. Mmm, I'll think about it.

Went out and found the Ancient Roman Theater here in Amman, and saw a couple museums, the Nymphaem (and old water fountain kind of building) and the Orphaem, a smaller theater. Checked out and stored my luggage at the hotel - storing it meant putting it on the back stairs outside. Came here to the internet where I got a new email from the Russian travel agency with a credit card form I can actually open, so I might now be going to Russia and skipping my fall-back idea of working in Greece or Turkey for a few weeks instead of Russia, the most expensive place I will visit this year. I'll have to decide by tomorrow.

Now to the airport and Istanbul!

Advertisement



12th August 2006

What do you mean you'll "think about it???" Come on! The whole starting a new business with a total stranger from a completely different country sounds like a done deal to me!
31st August 2006

attention
jen, you've always been a hit with those studly male foreigners. and how the hell are you anyway?

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb