Journal day 6- From israel to Jordan.


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
February 10th 2011
Published: February 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Got up early enough to say goodbye to Neill's kids before they went to school, got breakfast with Neill and then off the the Sheik Hussein northern border crossing point to make the trip over to Jordan.

We travelled a very scenic mountain route enjoying clear views. Waiting on the other side in Jordan was my mate from Armagh Gary and his friend who drove all the way from the Jordanian city Amman.

The crossing was more straightforward than I had expected and after all the passport control questions about my travels it basically amounted to a long wait for a bus to bring me the 100m to get across the border.

Gary has been in Amman for 4 years now and has settled into life here very well working as a manager for Fitness First gyms, and he has offered to give me a place to stay and the low down on the places I should visit during my stay. No doubt he'll also be up for a few pints and a bit of craic too.

We arrived in Amman after dark so I'll have to wait untill tommorrow to get a decent look at the place but nevertheless the evening wasn't wasted as we went straight to Gary's place where we were able to enjoy a couple of beers and a good chat looking out over the lights of Amman from the impressive views in his rooftop apartment above the Bahrain Embassy building.

Early start tomorrow for the big trip to the ancient and mysterious city of Petra. Up at 5am and off to a place I've wanted to see for years..!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0756s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb