Be My Guest


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
November 29th 2010
Published: November 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is such a small country and yet it has so much to offer. I can't believe that I have seen so much of this adorable kingdom in such a short space of time. From the howling winds of the desert in Wadi Rum to the cacophony of activities in the metropolis of Amman itself, I am quite amazed at how much history and beauty can be found in this wonderful country.

I am sad to say goodbye...I have enjoyed the civility of everything. For some bizarre reason, I had booked a single room when I was arranging my trip in August. When I arrived they upgraded me to a suite at no extra charge and I must say my palatial surroundings are a most welcome change!

But this is typical of Jordan...everywhere I have been I am the constant recipient of their warm smiles and genuine hospitality. I toiled and struggled to get up to the "Citadel" a viewing point of the whole city that also contains some ancient Roman ruins. As I trudged up the hill, a car stopped and two Jordanians said, "Mister...it is too high...we will drive you..." and then proceeded to bring me right up to the front gates!

Whenever I pull out a map, someone immediately rushes over and asks if I need assistance. Even when I was in the candy shop filling up a bag of sweets, the owner gave me a chocolate and told me it was "on the house".

And then I spoke too soon...I kept remarking that maybe their beloved King (they really do love their King and Queen!!!) has instructed them to be nice to the silly tourists...I just kept repeating over and over about how I loved this place and then I realized I had spoke too soon. I was in taxi trying to find my way back to my palace...the driver kept repeating over and over, "No English...left or right....no English...left or right". Well, this defeated the whole purpose of being in a taxi so I told him to stop, got out of the cab, refused to pay, and he just squealed his tires and drove away.

Naturally, this was a new problem since I really didn't know where I was and eventually found another taxi who drove me to my hotel in less than a minute. When I pulled out my money to pay, he refused, uttering the phrase..."Be my guest" and smiled. I offered him candies from the bag and he just laughed and told me not to worry.

In the post office this morning, I had decided to mail home my cursed sleeping bag and a pile of clothes to help deflate my luggage. The two postal workers were thrilled with the project and took great pleasure in jamming everything into the box they provided. In fact, I jokingly said they could punch and kick it (since it has caused me such unbelievable grief) and they took great pleasure in jumping up and down and laughing as they squeezed everything together. It was quite the scene with their silly behaviour and me shouting for them to keep jumping!

I love this place and know that if for some bizarre reason, I am refused entry at the Israeli border tomorrow morning, that this is not such a bad place to bide my time!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The World's Fastest Falafel-Maker!The World's Fastest Falafel-Maker!
The World's Fastest Falafel-Maker!

His balls just fly like you've never seen before!
My Roman AmphitheatreMy Roman Amphitheatre
My Roman Amphitheatre

Many performances have also taken place here.


30th November 2010

Be My Guest
I am just smiling away and enjoying my trip (with you in spirit) I can just feel the warmth of everything you describle so well, so very happy this is all happening, OMG I'm a Finlayson too, be good at the Border Kevin LOL tell more tell more xo

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb