Amazing cakes and mini-hookahs


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
October 8th 2008
Published: October 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so it's been a slow 2 weeks. Unfortunately, the weather did not get as cold as originally predicted. I was sad. But it still cooled down a lot, and I got to snuggle up in my comforter with hot coco, so I was happy. And it did rain, in fact, it rained most of Saturday. It was the first time I wasn't able to eat my breakfast on the balcony before school. That wasn't so fun. But I still enjoyed the rain.

Last week was the Eid al Fitr, which is a few days off in celebration of the end of Ramadan. We were having a celebration party on Emily's roof, and I was supposed to make a dessert for the party. I thought, since I had the whole day, I would make something complicated and fun. So I made sticky buns - from scratch. I had been trying to find frozen bread dough for weeks before this party, but with no luck, I had to make my own bread dough for the first time. It was certainly and experience! I took the dough to a classmate's house to make the actually sticky buns with his young kids, which was fun for all of us. They turned out to be a big hit at the party, thankfully, and I have since received requests to make them again for various occasions.

I had planned on traveling during the eid, but my plans fell through. I was upset at first, but I really enjoyed the quiet time I had to study, watch movies, bum around, and generally relax. I watched some awesome films - Mongol, which won a foreign language film award, Last King of Scotland, The Queen, and a few more. On Friday, we had a going away pizza party for one of the families from our small group who has returned to the States. We were sad to see them go, but we all enjoyed getting to know them while they were here.

School on Saturday was tough - no one wanted to go back to school. But we went, albeit grudgingly. On Sunday, I took a taxi out to an obscure neighborhood to our small group leader's house for Sunday night football. I managed to get lost, and then finally find my way there, all while talking to the taxi driver in Arabic. I was pretty pumped. (It pretty much consisted of right, left, straight, sorry, and oops....) I got to watch my favorite team play - GO EAGLES! - and then watch them lose by 6. Ouch. But the fact that I got to watch my team play football made it awesome, so I was happy.

Last night was Emily's birthday dinner, and since her parents were out visiting, her mom made us all some awesome lasagna, and we had garlic bread, and Jessey made a sick nasty cake in the shape of an iPod. It was epic.

This week we wrapped up our review on past-tense verbs, and started a new lesson on the near future. It's been really tough to wrap my head around, but it's starting to click. Today, I took my past-tense test. It was a lot easier, I thought, than my last one, but we'll see when I get my test scores back...

Coming up: more verbs to memorize, Jerash on Sunday for a day trip, and then some more good 'ol American football.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



8th October 2008

Again with the hookah!!!!
Do I need to make a PSA?! That cake was sick nasty indeed; my compliments to the artiste. Lots of hugs and kisses and snuggles, xxxxxxx
9th October 2008

Green Creature!!!!!
Sweetie, I'm really so proud of you!!!!! What you're doing is so very amazing! I love and miss you! I'm going to have to make time and send something eastern off to you to put up on your wall!!! ttfn! Cousin Dawn

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb