A Week In Retrospect


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
August 27th 2008
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, this past week has been somewhat uneventful. No major disasters, thankfully! The first two days of school were good, although it's tough to adjust to being in school again. Friday, our first day off, was like a breath of fresh air. I slept in, watched a movie, and then went to bake a fresh peach and blueberry cobbler. Got everything ready, turned on the oven, and went to simmer the peaches when the gas wouldn't light. We had run out of gas. So i changed the tank, which also ran out of gas after about a minute. So we talked to our landlord, who gave us the name of a guy could come fill our tanks for us. My unbaked cobbler went into the fridge. Christina and I then headed off to Starbucks to study for a couple hours before our small group met.
It was soo difficult to get up at 7.20 Saturday morning to go to school again. Ridiculously difficult. I just wanted to sleep. But back to school I went. After school, the gas guy came and filled our tanks, and i got to bake my cobbler, which was delicious!!!! I watched another movie and took a nice nap, and then went out to see the Dark Knight with some friends I met recently. They just couldn't get enough of the Prince Caspian chair though...
Sunday was a day to relax and get some more studying in before class on Monday. Monday arrived, and it was back to class and studying. Tuesday was a change, we had a guest speaker for an hour who came and talked to us about cultural differences and the importance of forging new relationships with locals here. The speaker was actually a member of our small group, so I had already had a chance to talk to him and his wife a bit. It was fun to hear him speak to all of us though! We also had a SWAN (Students Without A Network) meeting Tuesday night, which was long, but really enjoyable. There were about 15 of us there, and a ton of young kids. We talked for a bit, just getting to know each other and asking questions about things that we didn't understand in the culture here. After that we sang for a bit, and split into groups of two or three people to talk on a more personal basis. Then it was time for food!!!! Everyone had to bring food, so there was more than we could possibly eat. I made a cake, which came back with me virtually uneaten, because everyone was stuffed from dinner, no one could handle dessert.
Today was probably the hardest so far. It was high 90's outside, and in the classroom it felt over 100. With no air conditioning, it was near impossible to focus and get through class. I was so tired as well, the heat was exhausting, and not sleeping very much the past few days made it hard to keep my eyes open. But I managed ok, and went home and off to sleep. After a nice power nap, Christina and I went to the police station to get our visas checked, but the guy who does it wasn't there, and we were told to come back tomorrow. Just a little frustrating... Today being our water day, I was also kind of worried something else would go wrong, as it seems every Wednesday something always ends up going wrong. But we got the house cleaned, and our neighbor is home and still letting us do our laundry at her place. So it's been ok.
Coming up: more Starbucks study sessions on Friday, possible pool on Saturday for some heat relief, and Ramadan starts on Monday. It'll be an interesting month! :]

Advertisement



28th August 2008

Supply and demand
Hmmm, too much water and not enough gas. You need to reprioritize your utilities, baby! Off to my bubble bath with my cuppa. I lOVE you!!!!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb