My latest adventure


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Good Book ShopThe Good Book ShopThe Good Book Shop

where we get our internet
If you haven't already done so, you should all go see the video I posted with the last entry, which will show you around the apartment!

OK, so every building here has a water tank that only fills up once a week, and you have to be careful not to run out of water before then, otherwise you can't flush the toilet or brush your teeth or do anything else that requires water. Wednesday, today, is our water day. So we scrub down the apartment and do all the laundry on Wednesdays. Or so we thought. Now, I just got my new mattress yesterday, so when I say I was sleeping, I mean I was passed out cold. When I finally woke up, I see Christina, my roommate, looking a little stressed out in the next room. I got up, stripped my bed, and walked into the kitchen, to find the floor completely flooded. At this point, Christina told me she had made sure the washing machine worked, had put in her sheets, only to find that once she turned it on, all of the water came pouring out of the bottom, all over the floor. So I spent the next 30 minutes or so pushing all the water out of the kitchen into the living room so it wouldn't destroy out fridge, which we then soaked up using towels and used the rest to mop the floors in the rest of the apartment. We finished sweeping, mopping, and dusting, and I sat down for a hard-earned breakfast. And when I walked back into the kitchen, I discovered a ton more water on the floor. At this point, we were both stressed about the fact that the machine was broken, and we were quickly running out of clean clothes and sheets. So we blockaded the machine and ever-growing puddle with a bunch of spare towels, and we are still waiting for the handy-man to come fix it. On the upside, we have some very clean floors. Unfortunately, I have a funny little feeling that I'll be hand-washing my clothes tonight...

Every day here is an adventure. I love it. I wake up every morning to a cool breeze and sunshine, not knowing what the day will hold. Registration for classes is on Saturday, and I can't wait! I'm so excited to start school here, that's a first :] So I don't know how I'lll spend my last two full days of summer, but with so many new things to try, I'm sure I will truly enjoy them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

room decoroom deco
room deco

string lights and pictures, love it.


13th August 2008

Torrents of water
Oh NOoooooo! Your words were worth a thousand pictures! I'm trying to picture the kitchen sink, the dirty sheets, and no teeth brushed since last week! XXXXOOOO
15th August 2008

Hi!!
Hi Arianne! How are you?? I love reading your blog and I'm so sorry your washing machine broke!! :( Well my mother and I are sitting in the Shannon airport in Ireland and I'm following in your footsteps as we just arrived from the US and are headed to Scotland to spend time with Esther Anne, Ruth Avril and your Gramps! I'm very excited although it is already kind of an adjustment. Anyways I have skype so we should definitely catch up some time! Look me up! Miss you and I'm glad your having tons of fun! Good luck picking classes! Love, Abby :)

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb