Jordan on route to Israel


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
May 20th 2008
Published: May 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I arrived to Jordan by bus from Damascus. It was fairly uneventful at the border which was nice.

I had lunch with a Irish guy named Steve that I met at my hostel who is going to work for an NGO in Togo, Africa for 7 months.
Then I hibernated from the heat for the worst part of the day (it was 40C), and just too hot to be walking around with a long dress and backpack, so I relaxed until it was cooler.
Aterward, I checked out the Roman ampitheatre and odeon that is Amman's main (and really only) attraction. I sat in the park surrounding the ruins and planned the next leg of my Middle East journey, and then I strolled around the streets.
I shared my room with a woman and her 3 year old daughter (lots of babies as roommates lately). The littler girl Aida was really cute, and entertaining.
In the evening, Steve, Aida, Sheena (British lady who arrived and was also my roommate), and the mother (cant remember her name) had a really nice mezze style dinner. The food and conversation were good, and it was an enjoyable evening.
Also, I had been having a hard time tracking down malaria medicine, and I asked Steve about it and he said that he had a ton and decided not to use it the whole time anyway, so he had extra. I offered to buy it off of him and he just counted out enough and said nevermind paying...it would only be a few dollars anyway. Im happy to have that problem solved! People are so nice, ask and you shall recieve...


Advertisement



22nd May 2008

Love hearing about your travels
Erin love hearing about your travels and seeing your pictures. Glad to hear your are enjoying the sites and learning so much. Glad to hear you are keeping yourself safe. You are a brave one! While you are suffering in all the heat, we are getting rain and cool weather - keep the blackflies growing lol - but it is supposed to get much warmer this weekend. Everyone here is also enjoying your comments on your travels and waiting to see all the pictures you have. I read your blogs to Uncle Glenn and he sure knows a lot about that region over there and I think he would enjoy travelling there - he can't wait to have conversation with you when you return home. Rachel says hello and keep yourself safe. Thank you for keeping us in touch with your travels - it is the next best thing to travelling there for us. Take care of yourself and keep safe. Love Aunt Marlene

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb