Aqaba


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
October 15th 2007
Published: October 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I finally arrived in Aqaba after spending far too long in the airport waiting for a delayed flight - and ultimately could have driven here in the time (!). I didn’t realise Aqaba was so BIG! I also didn’t realise that people had 5 days public holidays for Eid and so the place is absolutely packed full of holiday makers. Oh for a bit of research before leaving home. So I’ve had to book into a larger, nastier and more expensive hotel than expected which is packed with French and German tours groups and throngs of British squaddies presumably on leave from Iraq. They are not actually behaving as badly as one might expect, they all seem pretty irritable but are generally quite quiet; although I haven’t yet seen them with a drink inside them. Managed to drag myself out of bed to swim with the fishes this morning but the ocean was choppy and I didn’t get to see much beautiful coral although I’m assured it is out there. Have decided to book into a smaller, nicer, quieter but yet more expensive hotel tomorrow, which only has local Jordanian guests and opened only recently so is not in any of the guidebooks.

Advertisement



17th October 2007

swimming with the fishies sounds laaaaavely. wonder if eid is a fun time to be there, or sort of excluding, like it must be being here at Christmas, everyone doing their family thing...

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb