Day 2


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
February 13th 2017
Published: February 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

6 AM sharp I woke up and headed straight for the shower as I attempted to awaken my nerves as today was the day our sight seeing began. I ran downstairs and the group decided to eat a restaurant to get some energy before we headed out at 8 am. We decided to walk next door to a restaurant called Maganda. A friendly staff was awaiting us and we hurried and ate our meals which mine consisted of something called chicken shashlik that I was not sure if I ate because of my empty stomach or because I genuinely liked it. We finished our meal and rushed to car as we set our course to Jerusalem. Our first stop was going to be at Hezekiah's Tunnel. As we left Tel Aviv at roughly 8:03 am that morning, we expected to arrive around 9:15 am if everything went well in the directional part. Different names of highways and exits I could not pronounce came into view. It was 9:27 am when we were driving down a dirt road in Jerusalem.

The tunnel itself was intricate in its entirety. The tunnel was a 1750 foot tunnel from what the guide lectured about. Water was the key here as it was considered one of the most remarkable water innovations of the pre-classical period. These facts were also brought about in 2 Kings 20:20 which stated, " “As for the other events of Hezekiah’s reign, all his achievements and how he made the pool and the tunnel by which he brought water into the city…”. Gihon Springs was said to have supported a population of around roughly 2500. As we walked through the tunnel (it was optional), I began to get claustrophobic as we walked through. My feet were beginning to feel numb as we walked in the cold spring water. It was crazy to imagine people putting their life into constructing this tunnel as they put their trust in God. You could still see the inscriptions on the wall from the builders during the time of Judean King Hezekiah. As we were ending our tour, I looked at the time and it was 5:30 on the dot. Hunger was overcoming me as we thanked the guide and went searching for food. We stopped at a small restaurant to eat and I ordered the hummus. In all honesty I was no fan, but food of any sort was my priority and I was satisfied. We drove our way out of Jerusalem and back to Tel Aviv. It was 8:02 when we arrived back at the hotel. My limbs were sore and my eyes were drained as I ma

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb