....I'm gonna guess Day 14 but at this point, who knows


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
June 25th 2011
Published: June 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This weekend just about the entire group came to Tel Aviv. We all went out to dinner and to a bar later. It was a lot of fun and it was awesome to see everyone again.

One thing I noticed this weekend was that we talked about the conflict a lot. And I mean a lot. In-between dinner and the bar we discussed the conflict. After the bar, waiting for taxis we talked about the conflict. Other people in the bars or restaurants will often add their opinions and they don't mind expounding upon them if you ask. I know I already talked about this but this conflict absolutely permeates this country. And Tel Aviv isn't near as bad as Jerusalem or the Settlements.

I can't even really comprehend it. America has been involved in conflicts before but nothing that so fully permeated our every day life and shaped the way we lived or acted (permanently at least). During World War II the manufacturing changed. WWII was also a huge factor in female empowerment which could definitely be considered a permanent change because of conflict but it isn't the same. Even the counter-terrorism factors that were instituted after 9/11 aren't exactly the same.

I know I'm not being very articulate but it's hard for me to find the words to describe what I'm seeing and feeling. After all, even in this age of terrorism I don't worry about leaving the house and being stoned. I don't actively worry about dying from a terrorist attack in the US. I can't imagine living with that cloud over my head everyday.

The different experiences that everyone's having really brings this conflict and it's effects on the people home. Nicole frequently worries about water and how much she is using while Roxanne has actually has water shut off in Bethlehem. Liz and Leslie have to deal with a completely alien, and dare I say, extreme culture compared to their own.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0899s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb