Safe Arrival


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
December 31st 2008
Published: December 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone--
I arrived safely after an 11.5 hour plane ride. I am jet lagged to the max but settling into my hotel room nicely. Except for everyone watching the news alot, there is really no signs that anything is wrong in the country as the violence is contained to the GAZA Strip which is a ways from here.

Everyone has been very nice starting with the cab driver who promptly spilled about his divorce woes after learning I was a counselor. He now has a much younger Russian "girlfriend" who he has married for visa purposes but does not consider to be his wife. He seems convinced she will leave him as soon as she finds someone who does not have such large alimony and child support payments to make each month. Life problems are the same no matter where you are.

The TV here is quite interesting--a channel for every language. No CNN which is a disappointment although interestingly they have FOX news here. A little conservative for me but it is keeping me abreast of the developments in Gaza as well as the US.

The hotel has a breakfast buffet in about 15 minutes---this should be interesting to see as I am very hungry but trying not to imagine Shoney's complete with French toast. :-) I am hoping to get a breakfast coma and sleep a little longer before venturing out later to explore Tel Aviv by foot. I am actually right on the Med Sea which is nice although I have yet to see it in the daylight.

The netbook I bought is having connection problems which I hope to get resolved. In the mean time I am using the computer in the lobby which does not provide me with the capability to send pictures. I will try to make an entry each day. Take care and Happy New Year.
Ann

Advertisement



1st January 2009

glad you arrived safely; FYI-Snugs is doing fine. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb