Slicha - I don't like the word blog.


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
May 21st 2008
Published: May 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm not even sure if that's the correct transliteration for the Hebrew word excuse me. There doesn't seem to be a free transliteration website.

Well, I've never written a blog before. I don't even read other people's blogs. Everyone else seems to have a litany of go-to web sites, blogs, and such. I don't. When I work at a desk job I go to facebook, gmail, and maybe vogue.com. I have no idea what else is out there and frankly find it hard to get worked up enough to nose around anywhere else. So if you're reading this, you are far more internet savvy than myself.

I will now stop blogging about the blog. It's too meta.

I'm in Tel Aviv at the moment. I wish I had started this earlier. I've been in Israel for eleven days now. For those that don't know, I just finished (just as in yesterday) a ten day tour of Israel. This was a free trip. The only catch was that I had to tour with 41 other Jewish people between the ages of 22 and 26. And I wasn't allowed to sleep. That's not entirely true, but as a group, we weren't really able to sleep more than three hours a night. So I would have liked to blog away about the ten day tour while I was on it, but as we were only getting minimal sleep, one can imagine how packed our days were. Free time was simply not an option. No, we did have free time on the bus traveling from one site to another. But this time was usually spent in either punchy delirium or deep sleep, our heads lolling from one side to another as our bus driver Apollo would swerve down the side of a mountain.

Through the free (Birthright) trip, I was able to extend my free plane ticket for two additional months. The plan so far is to recuperate at "cousin" Frieda's beautiful apartment right off the beach in Tel Aviv and then head out to a kibbutz for a couple of months to work. As I wander around the beaches and bars of Tel Aviv with my newfound free time, I am finding it harder and harder to imagine working out on a Kibbutz in the Israeli sun six days a week, eight hours a day. But then again, before I left the States I couldn't imagine touring Israel with a group of 40 other American Jews without getting nauseous. And I loved it. And I loved the group.

A note to the group: Sorry in advance for boring you with details about the trip. I will spend much time revisiting what we did. As soon as I can recollect any of it. Our original itinerary is so far off the map, it doesn't even include charades at Club Ramon or our death-defying hike in the Negev.

So, I really want to start writing from the beginning. But I must get back to the beach. Am meeting a few folks from the trip, I'm late and I haven't even applied sunscreen.

Pictures to come. As soon as I figure out how to get them onto the computer.

Much love from Eretz-Israel.





Advertisement



21st May 2008

blogtastic
It needs to be said, Steph. Keep fighting the good fight.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb