It's Getting Hot in Here


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

June 26, 2007
So a lot has happened over the past few days, but to be honest I'm way too tired to write about it all. To start, Tel Aviv is in the midst of a heat wave, as is most of Israel. It's 100 degrees Fahrenheit and higher everyday. For those fans of the metric system, that's 38 degrees Celsius and up.
It wouldn't be so bad if I could go to the beach everyday, but I started my job a couple of days ago. The hours really suck during my first week because I have to go through training. Basically, I’m at work from 8:30 AM until about 5:30 PM everyday. Today I worked until 6. It’s exhausting and I’m already sick of work in general. There’s a lot more responsibility than I expected, especially because I’m an intern. We’ll see where it goes over the next few weeks, but enough about work.
I’ve met a lot of new people here. Some are cool, some aren’t. There are a lot of different types of people here, but most of my friends are people from outside Israel on a foreign exchange program at Tel Aviv University. That might change over time though, because I haven’t even been here a week. My best new Israeli friend is the hippie I told you about, Adlai. He’s surprisingly responsible for a guy with dreadlocks who sleeps on a beach. He’s also a pretty smart guy with a very strong command of English, despite his very thick accent. I have a great picture of him chilling with Shpitz, the kitten that my neighbor keeps in her room, but I left my camera upstairs, so I’ll post it for all of you next time.
I’ll also post some pics of the neighborhood I’m in, Ramat Aviv. It’s kind of quiet, but it’s gorgeous. As a matter of fact, it’s one of the richest ones in Tel Aviv. The only problem is it’s a couple of minutes away from all the nightlife. I’d say it’s a lot like living in the Upper West/East Side, except with a lot more of a suburban-like feel.

Zagi-zunt,
Marcus


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb