Telaviv-Jaffa


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Jaffa
March 24th 2010
Published: March 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Monday was moving day and it all went well . ..a sherut from Netanya to Tel Aviv then a bus to Jaffa and the directions I had worked out really well .

Jaffa is an OLD city that has the ruins of many centuries although most of it is Turkish/Ottoman empire that dominated for @400 years . Mind you after being defeated at Akko Napolean came here , his troops suffered from the bubonic plague and he retreated to Egypt...such history . It has been a port and home to fisherman for 1000's of years but since the 50's it has been evolving . The walled city of the Ottomans has been designated as an artists colony of sorts . Only artists of some acclaim (this includes singers ,dancers ,actors ) can purchase the lease on the dwellings and some incentives are/were provided to redevelop/furbish the properties. In the last 20 years as well the rest of Jaffa has had more and more folks from TelAviv buy and build here as it is less expensive than the city . (The 2 are side by side now ...it is a 2.5 km walk from here to the center of TelAviv) .It is a vibrant comunity that has become a tourist attraction as well .Cynie walked me about Monday afternoon and today I did the walking tour so have more info.

Yesterday I walked in the city for hours (@6) . I really haven't done that very much this trip . I walked through one of the older areas developed by immigrants in the early 1900's. Nice narrow walking streets with homes one could imagine in a village . Some of course were quite magnificent and many have been converted into shops and restaurants.It has become a trendy place to live and to spend leisure time . Then I checked out a craft market that runs many blocks on Tuesday's and Friday's...it reminded me very much of the Cathedral Street Fair although the street is narrower and the buildings that line it are older . Next was walking along Rothchild Blvd and checking out the Bauhaus architecture of the 1900's brought here by the Europeans after the 1stWW .Interesting curves and lines. ( Actually many of the buildings in this city are magnificent . Driving in Monday I was awed by the number of highrises and the number that have character. It is a 21st century thing that I first noticed in HoChiMin City then in Dubai ... a DENSE population that has had to spread upward rather than as a sprawl and has done it with a flare.) Anyway the last part of my walking was done on a funky shopping street . The sidewalk restaurants and boutique-type shops were very busy . There are always people around ...mostly under 40 I think although there were what appeared to be grandparents and children earlier in the day . Listening to people I heard Hebrew ,Russian , French , English and others I did not recognize . An interesting and tiring day that I enjoyed thoroughly.

After all the antiqities of the last 6 weeks a city time is nice . I was looking at my calendar and I have been on the road for 5 1/2 weeks . I am getting tired of the the same clothes but things have gone very well .

Life is good...Hope all is well .





Advertisement



24th March 2010

almost gone
Packing has gone well. Not much left to do. We will definitely be organized by tomorrow. Saw Nettie & Bryon. He is very concerned about his Dad. They are here until about Apr. 10. I am sure she will keep you up to date. We hope to get to Navajoa tomorrow (way past Mazatlan). Then Tucson on Fri. Then we will wander along to Penticton. I want to shop as we go. Your trip sounds very interesting. As for clothes. Just think you could be in Regina in winter duds. Nah! Wear what you have with you. The sites don't notice that it is always the same outfit. You can hide them when you get back. Keep enjoying. Don't know when I will write again. Could be a few days. Take care. We will travel safely too. Love, R&C
24th March 2010

No new clothes for sale?
I'm shocked that you haven't found some new things to wear in all your journeys and visits to markets, etc. Only two shopping weeks left 'til home. Better get on it :>)
24th March 2010

I'm impressed - I think I would have had it after a month! Good on you as the Aussies say! Keep on hiking as you don't have much more time on the road! Do take care & we'll see you in April.
26th March 2010

You missed the March snowstorm this week (the last???) and now it's getting warmer so probably all the white stuff will be gone soon. I'm imagining all the interesting history you are experiencing. My new lab has antiquities too--old science stuff from the last 20 or 30 years! This weekend we're in Swift at the world women's curling gold medal game--go Canada! Have fun. Shirl.

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb