The Working Girl


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District
May 29th 2006
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Shalom v'yom tov!

I hope this post finds everyone enjoying their summer vacation. I can't even begin to tell you how amazing my summer has already been - and how much greater it will become! Since my last post, I have done SO MUCH, and I have hardly been near a computer, so excuse the lack of contact. On Friday night, Gil took me to this crazy thing called a "field party." They start late and don't end until sometime the next afternoon. Kids dance and talk and have a good time in the middle of a farm field or a desert dune. Pretty unique, let me tell you. I felt like an anthropologist, just standing back and observing. When the sun came up, we headed towards the sea for a day on the beach. I got a bit of a sunburn, but fear not, the tan is on its way!!!! Bellissima!

Sunday found me at my first day of work. The Maslan center is in a small house in the Yud Aleph neighborhood of Be'er Sheva, and it services physically and sexually abused women in the entire southern region of Israel, from Be'er Sheva to Eilat. The people who work here are simply amazing, a cozy family with an eclectic mix of nationalities. We chat and gossip all through our work, we sit down for lunch together, and everyone treats everyone like a loved one. I am working with the resource development department of the center, and specifically, I am fixing and writing letters in English asking for funding from American donors, calling American companies in an effort to connect them with us, researching new avenues of funding from America, and also preparing a powerpoint for Maslan to use as promotional material. It is safe to say that I am kicking some serious tail this summer. I'm changing the world, baby!!

The people I am meeting are beyond sababa סבבה! Gil's friends have already made me part of the group. His friend, Naor, wants to have me over for a "real Shabbat dinner" since Gil's family only makes half a ton of food for this Friday night feast. His friend, Amir, who is fighting leukemia right now, touched my heart the first time I met him. A tall, goofy guy who used to sport a huge curly 'fro, now wears a black hat Gil gave him every day and constantly listens to the iPod Naor and Gil bought for him in America. He had known me for all of an hour when he gets up from his couch, goes to his room, and emerges with a book. "This is for you - I think you will like it," he says as he puts it in my hands. Gil told me that it is very special to get a book from Amir - he only does it for the people he truly cares about and respects. I'll cherish it forever...

Anat, my boss at Maslan, is young and hip. She was a singer in the army band during her required two years of service. After going to university and working with a cellular company, she decided that her heart was in non-profit work, and she landed at the center about four months ago. We're like sisters separated at birth! We share an office, and she can't wait to take me out with her friends. I've said it before, and I'll say it again, I have the best friends in the world. I swear, I have no clue where I would be without the people I have met in my life. Y'all take such good care of me! I'll never be able to fully express the happiness in my heart because of all of this.

I know there is more to tell, but I'll have to stop for now. Expect pictures soon - I have a chance to upload some tomorrow here at work. I am only working 3 - 4 days a week because the girls want me to have lots of time for fun. I finally have a place to live - it's basically an apartment that I share with three other immigrants/volunteers. Sounds very promising. I also have a cell phone now, so if you would like any of this information, please let me know! I am so fortunate for all I have. Wow. That's all I can say. I love you all! E-mail me!!!!!!

Megs

P.S. The Hebrew is flying along...and I've only been here for five days!

Advertisement



29th May 2006

MT ...
... call home, MT, call home ...... please. I want to hear your voice. Give Amir an especially big hug for me.
29th May 2006

sprechen Sie Hebrew?
glad the Hebrew's coming fast! sounds like everything is just amazing. i'll be needing that address of yours why must tickets to Israel be so damn expensive?? i wanna visit! :( field parties! oh my god! who knew Israelis and small town Okies had so much in common...
30th May 2006

Hey Megan! Wow lits so awesome that ur having so much fun! It is also so cool that u are meeting really nice people!!! I'm so happy ur having such a great time!!!! ohhh u g2 tell me if u taught the israelis how to partyeee the Bolivian way! hehehe well take care!!! and keep on having lots of fun!!
31st May 2006

Remember ..
Some of my friends are reading this blog, Megan. LOL I know you're busy but post some more, please.
2nd June 2006

c'mon
Seriously megan, those comments are just sad. Would you just call or write your momma? :P

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb