Home for the Summer


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District
May 25th 2006
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Shalom y'all! We find our fearless traveler in Be'er Sheva, Israel, after a long flight, little sleep, and crappy airplane food. Actually, that's all in the past. I have slept long, eaten well, and I am now with my amazing friend, Gil, his family, and his girlfriend (who I adore!). They are taking great care of me, making sure I learn how to live like an Israeli. It's the craziest thing - everywhere I go, people think I'm Israeli...until I open my mouth. It's definitely an ego boost. I have a really good feeling about the Hebrew classes and how fast I will progress. I already understand so much better than I have.

So, NYC was so much fun. I found the crazy Indian place I love on 1st Avenue, and Francesca, Ricardo, and I ate until we couldn't move (it's cheap, the food is good, and the waiters are hysterical). Matteo and I had a very happy reunion - he made it to New York much earlier than expected in order to surprise his parents. Problem was, his parents' flight was 4 hours late! The Del Bravo's are a scream and a half. Matteo gets his personality straight from them, vulgarness and all! It was so sad to finally say goodbye to him. I guess I have taken his being around for granted. A tearful goodbye, but a hopeful one, nonetheless. I will see him in December when I make my return trip to Roma.

The flight was long, as expected, but the plane was horribly uncomfortable. I managed to sleep a bit until Zurich. I turned on my phone, sent the 'rents a text, waited a bit, and was about to make a phone call when the phone died. I mean deader than a doornail. So now, I have no cell phone. 😞 Cingular had better just send me a new one...thank goodness for insurance! I will get an Israeli number probably tomorrow (I slept in so late today!), and of course, I will share the number with those who might want to call and tell me how much I am loved and missed...

And that's life so far. Just getting used to living in a new place, getting settled in, and learning so so much. I'm ridiculously happy to be here - this was the right decision to make. I can't wait to start my job on Sunday - the lady I will be working for sounds so sweet. So, I send my love from 6000+ miles away. Take care, everyone!

Megs

P.S. Yes, it is flippin' HOT here.

Advertisement



28th May 2006

תהני
אים היי פעם תיזכרי, אני בישראל
31st May 2006

Shalom Shay
Email me, Shay. I'd like to know how and what you are doing. Get my email addy from Meira.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb