I can't believe I'm halfway done in Eilat


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District » Eilat
April 13th 2012
Published: April 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

מה קורה (Whats up!) Well, it has taken me much longer than I had previously anticipated to make my second blog entry here. A variety of issues contributed to this delay. The small laptop I chose to bring on my travels had difficulty charging with the adapter. My iPhone served as my only other piece of technology but is not conducive to long body texts. My dad visited me a few weeks ago and solved the issue by presenting me with an iPad (how lucky am I!). The last hurdle that needed to be jumped was the inconsistent Internet connection in my apartment. Last week my program coordinators solved the problem. Now that you understand why I have been absent for two months I can relive the last two months in Israel for you!

Today marks the exact halfway point of the program as well as my birthday. After my first three days in tel aviv I met up with my group (oranim-destination Israel-Israel way) at the Deborah hotel on Monday February 6. I was staying at the Gordon inn hostel the night before so it was an easy commute across the street to the Deborah. The day consisted of administrative details, but more importantly getting to know our future coworkers/roommates/friends for the next five months. The memory I cherished from this day was drinking Frenet and Coke on the beach with my new Argentinian friends. With a group of 45 consisting of the countries USA, England, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, and Moldova, I knew I was in for a multi-lingual/multi-cultural treat!

I have decided that since I'm about to head out to celebrate my birthday that I'm going to split the first 2.5 months into three parts: trips to north and Jerusalem, activities in Eilat outside work, and my working life here in the hotel. Until then, להתראות (good-bye)!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb