Eilat


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District » Eilat
March 7th 2011
Published: March 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Under Water 112 secs
2: Under Water 112 secs
My family and I went to Eliat to go snorkeling. It was amazing! The second I put my face in, I saw fish…neon blue fish…with bright orange tails! There were so many! They were colorful and exotic - just like the ones I have seen in an aquarium, but they were wild! You could see the coral reef and lots of schools of tropical fish. They seemed not to be afraid of humans. Once, I put my foot down and accidentally stepped on a huge yellow fish. The fish swam away angrily. It was so much fun, even if I did swallow three gulps of salty Red Sea water. The next day, we went to an underwater observatory. It is like a glass room under the sea where you can observe wild fish! The room overlooks part of the coral reef. I saw an eel, a puffer fish, a lion fish (aka a turkey fish), and a huge barracuda looking thing with a mouth full of teeth! Eliat is Israel’s southern most city and people like to go there to swim, snorkel, and scuba dive in the Red Sea. Israel borders the Red Sea, the Dead Sea and the Mediterranean Sea. I was on a jetty at night (overlooking the Red Sea), and I could see the lights of Jordan, Egypt and Saudi Arabia. I hope we can go back to Eliat soon.

I shot the video and made this little movie myself! What you are seeing is not a fish tank but the actual coral reef in the bay of Eilat, which is part of the Red Sea. I loved watching the Lion Fish and the Parrot fish. I hope you like it!

Advertisement



10th March 2011

Lovely
I enjoyed reading your comments about your visit to Eilat. The video of the coral reef was breathtakingly beautiful. Watching with the full screen was like being right there. Was the huge yellow fish you accidentally stepped on in the video? :-)
10th March 2011

I Love Fish, too!
Emily...your video is wonderful! I have watched it about five times already! Those fish are so cool!
13th March 2011

Beautiful!!1
That was just wonderful,Em. I felt asif I was in the water with the fish. Sure is a lot more up close and personal than the Mote aquarium.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb